I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 16, 2007 - 12:23 p.m.

Newflash, the Jews are Still the Chosen People

So here it is, March 16, the day before St. Paddy's day and it is snowing. Strangely enough that makes me think of my parents. Whenever it snowed on St. Patrick's Day or was nice on Yom Kippur they'd say, "We [the Jews] are still the chosen people." When it was nice on St. Patrick's Day or rained on Yom Kippur they'd say, "I guess we aren't the chosen people any more." I guess the Irish were the default other choice for Chosen People. So WooHoo I'm one of the Chosen People.

When I was teaching yesterday I had no clue as to the origin of the word logarithm. I did some research and found that it comes from the Greek logos (word) + arithmes (numbers). That doesn't make sense until I read further and discovered that logos could also mean proportion. The article I was reading then gave the wrong explanation for that. I'll have to do some more research but logarithms were originally defined not in terms of exponentials but in terms of a proportion. When I find the details I'll put it in the Wikipedia entry. Now it is silent on the origin of the word.

I'm supposed to see Christine Lavin tonight. I hope the concert isn't cancelled because of the weather. It is in Garden City, just 17 minutes from my house so if the show is on I'm going. I am going to ask them if I can make a pitch for SMAF. I'll be bringing the brochures too.

I did not sleep well last night. I am not going to try the Ambien again tonight but If I don't sleep again I'll try it tomorrow. I don't want to become dependent on it. I took Atarax but antihistamines never make me sleepy.

As often happens when I can't sleep I found myself thinking unhappy thoughts. Most of them last night were centered on my inability to gauge what people think of me. I so often overestimate my importance in people's lives then get disappointed when I discover the truth. I thrashed out a 40-page treatise to put here but I'm just going to leave it at the one paragraph. Aren't you lucky?

I just checked, the concert is still scheduled for tonight. Of course he site says to check back later.

One good thing about the snow, I won't be tempted to go out for dinner. I'll have to cook myself. Of course I'm planning on just making hot dogs and a baked potato tonight. I'm becoming addicted to my baked potatoes.

Diaryland had problems yesterday so I didn't update till last night. As a consequence most of you missed my exciting last entry. Read it now and discover the unintended consequences of having a 6,000-mile-long penis.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 16, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!