I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-03-21 - 10:31 a.m.

High School Confidential

I got good news yesterday; my father's spleen is OK. I am upset with the doctor though. My mother called to ask what he sonogram showed. He said that he hadn't looked at it yet and would get back to her if he had a chance. Letting the family know if someone is going to need surgery is part of the job, it is not something that you do if you have time. You find the time. He didn't get back to us till yesterday evening when my mother saw him. I didn't ask her if she had to ask the doctor again or if he contacted her.

Thank you Lori for your kind words.

I announced the next test in my class, it is going to be on April 3, the day they come back from their vacation. Today I'm going to have a review day. Yesterday I reviewed the last topic that we'd already spent 3 days on, graphing. The class came up with several responses that bothered me. The first was asking if I could push the test back another day. I'm gave them 2 weeks notice and they wanted another day? I told them if they didn't like that I'd give them the test today. Then when I said what was going to be covered on the test someone said in a surprised voice, "graphing is going to be on the test?" I resisted being sarcastic but it was hard. Here we were going over it for days, doing dozens of problems. What did he think I was doing that to amuse myself? Then while reviewing graphing someone asked, "How many graphing questions will be on the test?" He always asks these kinds of questions and I always tell him not to bother asking. What the hell difference does it make? He can't do anything about it. He also knows that I haven't made the test up yet. I mentioned that I'd be doing that over the vacation. I told him that there would be as many questions as there are and that I won't know till I make it up.

Sam came up to me after class to make sure I'd be holding my office hours today. He makes me feel so good about teaching. He is very intelligent, hard working, and a really nice guy. I'd love to have a class of people like him in it.

My plan was to go down to Tonic and buy tickets for Sunday's Kennedys' show right after school. Lisa had called them and they told her that if she wanted advanced tickets she had to go there in person. I called to find the box office hours and they were 8-11 so I went home first. I usually take the LIRR when I go into the city, it's easier and I have a monthly so I don't pay for it. Tonic is right over the Williamsburg Bridge about 20 minutes away without traffic and a pain to get to after taking the railroad so I decided to drive for a change. I was lucky and there was no traffic and got a parking spot right in front. When I got in they had no idea what I was talking about. They weren't selling advanced tickets for the show. The person that Lisa talked to screwed up.

Now I should have just gone home but I got lured into their shop. They sell CDs and used books, a good combo. I bought Raymond Scott: The Chesterfield arrangements 1937-1938. I have mentioned Raymond Scott before. I try and see the Raymond Scott Orchestrette whenever they play. Even if you never heard of him you know his music intimately. Twelve of his songs were recorded for Warner Brothers and they were used in countless WB cartoons. I love it.

I also bought the Oxford Anthology of Fantasy Stories. I'm a sucker for CDs and used books aren't I?

When I got home I went to find one of my old calculus books to get some problems to give my class today. While hunting for it I found my high school yearbook. That has been missing for at least 10 years. I of course dropped everything and went through it. That was so depressing. Not one person had signed my book. I wasn't exactly popular in HS. I went through all the people and found that there wasn't anyone I really had any desire to see again other than Ira. There are so many people that I sort of knew that I knew but don't remember anything else about. I did notice that my taste in women has remained pretty constant, I still think that the girls I had things for back then are cute. I also saw why our teachers confused Neil Briskman and me, we really did look alike. I didn't think so at the time but there is one picture we are both in that I had to look twice to see who was who.

On the bright side I see how much I really have changed since high school. I couldn't make any friends there. When I got to college that started to change. My world expanded too. This might be hard to believe but I was not into music back then. That started in college. Now it is such a huge part of my life. High school wasn't my glory days. I don't know if I ever had them, perhaps they are yet to be.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-03-21
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!