I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-04-10 - 9:59 a.m.

Why?

I didn't have a good night last night. My Crohn's disease really was acting up so I didn't get enough sleep. Why do I always feel the need to say this? I guess I want an excuse for my punctuation errors.

Sue and Mike went back to Texas yesterday. Sue took care of most of the business that needed to be taken care of. She'll be back in a few weeks to help out again. Sue and I were thinking of my mother giving me the power of attorney to save her some work. Sue thinks my mother my get offended by the idea. I just want it so that she doesn't have to go in person to court and Borough Hall to put things in her name. There are so many small things like that, that have to be taken care of.

I haven't started grading my tests yet. I really need to do that before Monday. I'll have to buckle down starting today. This weekend I'm going to volunteer at WFUV. I didn't put down any specific times because I want to see how my mother is doing. The only exception is a week from Sunday when Carey will join me.

The Mets lost yesterday, they are below .500 now. The one good thing about being pessimistic about how my team's prospects is that I get the pleasure of being right when they lose. I'd still rather they win of course. The Mets front office doesn't have the faintest idea of what wins baseball games. They are spending lots of money but not at all wisely. I am thinking of finding someplace to write a baseball column, I know if I write about it here I'll bore everyone but Lawrence . Before I started this diary I had book marked a site where you could post columns and actually get paid for people reading it. That was on AOL though and I don't have the link anymore. Does anyone know the site?

I don't have much more of a personal nature to write so I might as well put in my political rant today. Gella wrote an entry about the Middle East yesterday and this sort of compliments what she said.

As I think I've made clear I do not support the Israeli invasion of the West Bank. Sharon's first reaction is to use force, which he has shown since the invasion of Lebanon. The invasion is not accomplishing its goals, there was another suicide bombing today. All it is doing is inflaming the world against Israel.

That is what I really want to write about though. Why are there mass protests against Israel and none against what the Palestinians are doing? Hamas and other groups are targeting children yet the world just accepts that. These are organized groups that are allowed to exist and have the support of the people. The child killers are considered heroes. The Arab leaders will not even call the bombers terrorists. Why does the world accept this?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-04-10
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!