I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 23, 2012 - 12:03 p.m.

A Long Days Journey Into Barnaby Bright

I'm fighting off the Chronoklepts and starting to write. There are things I just have to get accomplished today. The first of course is catching up here.

I wrote that last paragraph more than half an hour ago. The Chronoklepts are doing a good job this morning. I did use some of that time effectively doing dishes � yesterday's breakfast dishes. I had to do that so I could cook today's breakfast. The only place to place the drying rack for the dishes in my tiny kitchenette is on my tiny stove aka easy bake oven.

So now let's turn back to the clock to the halcyon days of Thursday. I had a busy day. Not sure how much there is to write about it but the day took far more than 24 hours to live. There must have been some relativistic events to make that possible.

It was the day of the one day WFUV pledge drive. I didn't do my usual 6 AM to 6 PM shift. I did 6 AM to 8 PM instead. Then I went out that night. "Aren't you a bit old to be burning the candle at both ends like that?" "Yes, yes I am."

The ride in was made shorter, at least more enjoyable, by Jim. He gave me a ride from the financial district to the station. The subway ride only took me 11 minutes and because I used Google maps I didn't have to wait long for the train. It tells you when they leave and is accurate. Getting the ride didn't save me that much time but it's a lot more fun riding up with Jim than riding in the subway alone.

I had to miss most of the last drive so it was extra sweet being there. Everybody welcomed my return like the Prodigal Son. Nobody slew a fatted calf. There was lots of good food though. I stuffed myself all day.

The phones were at exactly the right level of business. There was a constant flow and at times got busy enough that I had to turn a phone on for myself but I never had to actually answer one. I guess I should explain to My New Gentle Readers that Jim are the volunteer supervisors during the pledge drives. How did we get the job? By being pushy. Back in the day I just got restless and started answering people's questions and that grew into being all that I did. As my handwriting is terrible and my people and organizational skills are good it's putting me to far better use.

When I volunteer I feel useful and appreciated. The best part is hanging out with fun people, the staff and other volunteers. It's like one giant party for me. How much do I feel loved and appreciated?

Kathy wrote that. At least Sam loves me.

The problem with listing names is I'll never to remember to list everyone and I don't want the ones I forgot to feel slighted. As I was there for almost the entire length of the drive I saw all my friends who volunteered. I have to confess that did take a nap for an hour at 6:20 PM. I hope you don't think I'm a slacker.

After the drive I took the Ram Van, the intercampus shuttle to Fordham's Lincoln Center Campus where I hopped on the subway to the Lower East Side where I saw Barnaby Bright at Rockwood Music Hall. Right after I got off the subway I felt a tap on my shoulder; it was Seth, who also went to the show. We soon heard Nathan and Becky aka Barnaby Bright calling to us. They were parked right on the block and were waiting for the band that was on before them to finish so they could bring their stuff in. As I was selling the merch that involved me too. I went to get some iced coffee and when I got back they were already inside. The caffeine fix was just what I needed. Seth and friends including Kat and Mel sat up in the mezzanine. I was at the merch table by the door. Standing on my feet another few hours like that might not have been the wisest thing but it's what I do.

Barnaby Bright performed as a four-piece with Craig on bass and the cello player who I don't really know and whose name I never remember. This is my favorite configuration of the band. As I've been talking about how I appreciate different performers I guess I should say how I think about BB. They are about the music, virtuoso performance and brilliant songwriting. I also get a kick from cognitive dissonance. Becky and Nathan or two of the nicest, funny, positive people I know but their music goes to the dark side. So many of their songs would work as summations of Hitchcock films or even better his TV show.

I might have eschewed the show because of the pledge drive but I couldn't because of the date. Barnaby Bright is a Medieval term for the Summer Solstice and this was there Solstice show. Technically it was a day late but most years it's on the 21st and it's close enough for me.

I had a great extra duty as merch guy, giving away wonderful cupcakes. Yes giving away, the cupcakes were free but you couldn't get one without coming over to the merch table by the CDs and t-shirts. I was very good and only had one. I also brought two home. Well I had to do that, they asked me to get rid of them.

I of course raced home as soon as I could as I had such a long day. Oh wait, I didn't. I forgot I'm me. After closing up shop and packing up the merch I went to say goodbye and ended up in the green room and couldn't resist hanging out with Craig, Nathan, and Becky. Damn you for being such good company and keeping me from sleeping.

Barnaby Bright is doing a show at the Living Room on July 17 two days before my birthday. I'm thinking of centering my birthday celebration around that. I'll be hitting the speed limit, 55. Any ideas for a good place for the celebrants to eat before or after the show? I have to see if I can get the Living Room to let me reserve some tables then see if anyone is interested in going.

When I got home I still had too much adrenaline and maybe caffeine to go to sleep and was up another few hours on the phone with Lena. I don't think I tried to get to sleep till 2 AM and I had gotten up at 5 AM and I was busy most of that time.

I vegetated most of the day on Friday. I never went shopping so I once again went out to eat. I really need to cook a dinner on my newly connected stove. I miss that so much. It won't be today either as I'm going to a house concert in Jersey.

I ended up eating at the burger restaurant. When I went in there I saw Marjorie. That's the second time I have since I moved here. That's what makes this a real neighborhood. I actually run into the people, well person, I know. People walk around. They hang out. They do more than move from the apartment to wherever they are living the rest of their life. I love that.

Now I better get moving with my life. I have to get a new phone today. I'm not sure if the phone or the charger broke but I can't get the connection between the two to work anymore. The phone was awful anyway. I don't really have time to shop so I'll have to make a quick decision. I might switch to a cheaper prepaid plan or upgrade and stick with t-mobile. I'll have to compare prices. I think I'm going to actually get a smart phone.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 23, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!