I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 24, 2012 - 11:23 a.m.

They're about 9 and I'm about an idiot.

I just beat off the last of the Chronoklepts so I can start writing. I'm a bit bruised, Chronoklepts are tough.

I of course managed to get very little done during the day yesterday. The one thing I did is finally get a smart phone. I could no longer charge the old one and the quality was terrible so I finally bit the bullet and replaced it. I bought it at Best Buy a few blocks from my house. I got a prepaid service with Boost Mobile based largely on the price. When I bought it I told the sales woman what I needed and included, "I want the phone to be working when I leave the store." After she set everything up what did she tell me? The activation won't take effect for one to 24 hours. I had already paid for it and was afraid my old phone wasn't going to last so I took it anyway. She said that when my old phone stops working the new one will and all I had to do was add the time from the card she gave me.

After that I made a pit stop at home and headed out to New Jersey to see the We're About 9 Duo at Chris's house aka Notes From Home House Concerts. I took the bus there. I wrote down the bus info and headed out the house. On the subway ride there I realized that I hadn't written down the address or where to get off the bus. That's just the beginning of my idiot story. I've been there before and taken the bus and if I could go very slowly and look at all the street signs I could find it. But of course as a passenger on the bus I couldn't. Then I realized that I now had a smart phone. If it got activated I could read my email with the directions on it. If not my old phone worked and I could call Brian and as long as he had his phone on and was already at Chris's I could get directions. One major flaw in that plan. When I got to the Port Authority my new phone wouldn't work. When I tried dialing the number to add the time I was told the phone wasn't authorized to make that call. When I went to call Brian on my old phone it had already been disconnected. So I had no working phone.

I didn't panic. I still had time. I could call once I was on the bus or borrow somebody else's phone. At least I was less confused than a woman I met. She had clearly just arrived on a bus and asked me if this was New York City. Who gets off a bus in a major city without knowing where they are going? She was at 42nd street and 8th avenue in midtown. What other city did she think she was in?

I gave her how to get to Macy's then headed to make my bus. I knew it was gate 412. Well that's where it normally is but 400 gates were all closed. I was told I had to go down two levels to get my bus. I found it with just a little confusion. The bus line has two temporary gates and what busses were leaving from which weren't posted but it took only a minute of asking to find out each. For some reason half the other people were furious. The bus was on time and everyone knew what gate to be at. It wasn't such a hardship having to ask.

I tried my phone again and this time it let me add the minutes. Then I realized that the battery was almost dead. I had just bought it and they don't put much of a charge on it when it's new. The sales person should have mentioned that. I'd have brought my laptop and charged it from that with the usb cable If I had known.

I figured out how to get online and went to gmail to retrieve my email. I have never used a smart phone before and the bus was bumpy and I kept mistyping things including my password. That meant I also had to do a Captcha. Every time I tried something went wrong. It was very hard to both type and read on the bumpy bus and I had never used the technology before. I then realized I was in the right neighborhood already and was running out of time. I called Brian. He could hardly hear me. I hope there was a problem with the cell service in the area or else the new phone is worse than my old one. I was able to slowly get the message across to him what the problem was and he got the address and where to get off from Chris.

The problem wasn't solved. I soon recognized that I had gone too far. I called back. Brian told me to get off the bus and Chris would find me. Even though he didn't know where I was, he did. He just followed the bus route. It only took a few minutes and I made it back to his house in plenty of time for the show. I was sort of happy it happened as it gave me an idiot story to write about. I've seen We're About 9 so many times I've run out of material to write about them.

Gene and Isabel were there when we got back. They were on the run during the day which is why they didn't give me a ride. We grabbed seats together. The first time I went to a concert at Chris's there wasn't any food I liked at the pot luck. I started bringing Popeye's chicken which was a hit and other people started bringing chicken too. Coming on the bus like I did I couldn't bring anything and hoped for the best. So what happened? There was lots of shrimp and nothing for me to eat. I was happy I grabbed a hot dog at the Port Authority. At least the company was good.

The concert was of course great. You can fill in all the usual stuff say about WA9, unique, fun, quirky, sesquipedalian and turn it into a paragraph.

I've seen them a lot this year but I never get tired of their music or talking to them. They no longer have new band or friend smell. Now they are comfort food. We can pick up on conversations started years ago. I know I'm going to get great hugs.

After the show Gene and Isabel drove me home. Well actually they drove me to Pathmark which is where I wanted to stop first. That made my life much simpler, saved me a lot of time, and gave I had more great conversation. Have you ever noticed it's good to have friends?

I went to pathmark for somethings for today's breakfast but while I was there I got a frozen dinner, chicken fried chicken, for a buck! I popped it in the microwave and had a late dinner so I didn't starve. The tragedy was that one of the sides was corn and I couldn't eat it. The other was mashed potatoes and they weren't bad. I might have to buy more of these dinners, I can't beat the price.

Milton was playing a brunch gig today in Brooklyn, I can walk there, and figured this was a good chance for me to get together with some Brooklyn friends. Unfortunately none could make it; tragic. So I'll make breakfast at home. Then I'll finally make a run to Bed, Bath, & Beyond for some of the cooking gear I need. Either that or just hang out in the neighborhood on this beautiful day and shop tomorrow. I could walk to Prospect Park. You'll find out what I do in tomorrow's Wise Madness.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 24, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!