I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 26, 2008 - 10:51 p.m.

What Should I Do Tomorrow?

It is about 8,000� C in my apartment. I have my windows wide open. There isn't really much more I can do. I'll put on my ceiling fan. I'm still boiling. I went to put on my window fan and saw that it doesn't have the power cord attached. I wonder if that's with my missing computer parts.

I took advantage of the alternate side of the street parking today. I got in my car right before it started and went shopping. I actually drove back to my old neighborhood to shop at Walbaums. It is better than my local supermarket and I don't know where there is a closer one. I picked up some thing and came back at 12:07. Parking on one side of the street becomes legal at noon so I got a spot right across the street from the service entrance. The problem with getting such a good spot is that I want to give it up. I'll just have to stay at home until a week from Thanksgiving when I have to move it again.

Alison came over to day to bring me a vacuum cleaner and a table/counter to keep my microwave on. It is pretty much exactly what I need. The original plan was for us to have lunch together but it took her hours to get the table into her car and then she hit stop and go traffic. By the time she got here she couldn't stay longer than it took to drop off what she brought me.

My plan for not is to stay home alone on Thanksgiving. I am invited to spend it with Alison's friends but I think I'd feel awkward. I could ask Aubrey if I could go to his house again but I felt awkward asking that too. If I get invited I'll go, otherwise I'll spend Thanksgiving alone. Maybe I'll get my laundry done. I'll make myself Cajun steaks so at least I'll really enjoy my dinner. I do not like turkey.

I think I might have actually started something viral. Last night, well actually early this morning, I created an event on Facebook, Festivus. I invited most of my friends to attend. Some of them invited people. There are now 104 people attending and I don't share any friends with some of them. That means that they aren't even friends of friends. It has spread beyond my immediate circle. In case you got a defective calendar that doesn't list the dates of Festivus, it starts on Friday and ends on January 25. On Friday I'll issue my annual Festivus Encyclical.

Since Hillary Clinton is going to the next Secretary of State Governor Patterson is going to have to appoint her successor to finish out her term. I think I'll temporarily lower my sights from my dream jobs of GM of the Mets and Pope and apply for the position. The only real downside is that I'll have to move again. Now I'll keep my New York apartment, you have to be a resident of the state to be a Senator, but I'll have to also get a place to live down in DC.

Three of my favorite movies were on TV today. The Rainmaker (1956), The African Queen, and West Side Story. I've written about The African Queen many times. I don't think I've ever mentioned The Rainmaker. It stars Kate Hepburn and Burt Lancaster and makes a reference to Domnei one of James Branch Cabell's lesser known novels. It's brilliant. I'll take, "Give me my hundred dollars" over "Show me the money" any day. Did any show ever integrate, book, music, lyrics, and dance as well as West Side Story??

I really should write more about The Rainmaker as that�s the one unfamiliar to most of you. Kate lives on a ranch in Texas. She just came back from visiting an uncle in an unsuccessful attempt to find her a husband. Her father is kind but the family is run by her brother played by Lloyd Bridges. He's hard and unforgiving and sees the worst in people. He thinks it is just being a realist to tell Kate that she's plain and that their brother is stupid. There's a draught and the ranch is in peril. Burt Lancaster plays Starbuck, the rainmaker. He's a mountebank that travels around in his wagon with a promise of making it rain in 24 hours. That's the time frame for the film, that 24 hours. Starbuck is the opposite of Lloyd Bridges's character. He sees the best in people. "All women are pretty, they just each have their own way of being pretty." He sees it as his job to teach Kate that she's beautiful. He's a conman yet he is the one that sees and speaks the truth.

It also struck me about what it says about the place of women at the time. Kate is the smartest character in the film but her only possible good future is marriage. There is no thought of her having a career of her own.

I think I'm going to end this here. I wonder what I'll come up with writing tomorrow. I wonder what my mental state will be tomorrow. Will I be regretting my decision to stay home alone?

Before I go, a couple of updates. The room has cooled off enough to be comfortable. Since I started writing this 9 more people have said that they were going to attend Festivus.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 26, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!