I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 25, 2008 - 11:49 p.m.

LOTR III: Return of the Roy

I really need to teach my computer to write these entries for me. How hard could it be? A simple heuristics program. It knows my schedule as I keep my calendar on it, it has access to all my online communications, it knows much of what I'm reading, and it knows what my friends are up to as much as I do. Then I wouldn't have to take the time typing these things up. I love writing them but I hate the actual typing part.

This morning Time Warner came in to install the cable on my living room TV set. They screwed up the order the first time and only sent one cable box. They called me last night to confirm. Then they woke me up at 8:30 this morning to confirm again. A computer called both times. That was really annoying.

As a prelude to getting the cable installed in the living room I needed my living room TV back. I had lent it to Farley. I live right near where he teaches and he brought it over after school. I called up my super and arranged for him to have a dolly ready for me to use to bring it upstairs. Guess what, he didn't do it. He hasn't done one thing that he's said he'd do since I moved in. He is a total disaster. What should I do? I have no experience living in an apartment? Should I call the management company? I mean he hasn't done anything about the mouse that I saw over a week ago. He hasn't fixed the broken window lock I told him about before that. He did give my key to the moving man instead of giving it to me.

Anyway one of the porters was around and he found a hand truck and brought it up to my apartment for me. I tipped him $5, was that enough?

The big news is that last night I played bridge for the first time in ages. After Farley brought the TV I met Roy at his office. First we went out for pizza then we went the bridge game at the temple in Kings Point. I don't know how we did. They don't score the game till the next day. I'll go check now. We came in second with a 60% game. That is really good especially as we haven't played in ages. It isn't as strong a game as we usually play in.

I never forget bridge. It is like math, all logical. My concentration was pretty good except for the one hand I totally blanked out on. We were defending and I thought I was the dummy. That was so bizarre.

Know what else is bizarre? I was racing to finish this entry before I left the Knick game, got distracted when it was almost finished and forgot all about it.

OK so now I'm back from the Knick game. The Knicks were killed by Cleveland.

But back to last night. It was an important element in getting my life back. I played bridge and spent time with Roy. It has been way too long since I've done either.

I had some things to write about based on my discussions with Roy. I have no idea what they are now.

I guess I'll wrap this up soon. Before I do I have to remind you that Festivus begins this Friday. Whatever your problems don't forget the spirit of Festivus. You'll feel better.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 25, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!