I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 22, 2012 - 6:12 p.m.

Starlite Star Bright

I promised you another entry and I've been wasting time all day but here it is. NO. it isn't. I have to be good. I am going to get dressed and do my laundry and I'll write this while the laundry is being done. That's better. The laundry is in so I can write. Remind me to put it in the dryer at 3:25. Then I start on the whites. If I don't remember it is your fault.

Ah fault. I can write a lot about fault. but wait, that's another entry. I'm switching into music blog mode. OK maybe I'll come back to fault later as this is not a second entry of the day like I planned on it last night.

After writing about not feeling like me and being so out of sorts last night I did something that is pure me. But it is going to take a bit to get to that. I had to get me and all my stuff from Hogwart's in Manhattan to The Last Homely House West of the Mountains in Brooklyn. My plan was to call a car service. When I was all packed I did. I was told it would take 45 minutes to an hour. That would cut things close as after getting to the Last Homely House I had an appointment to see an apartment. I called other car services and they were worse, they couldn't come to the evening. I called back the original and they told me the wait was now an hour and a half. I took it. But that was too late so I decided to try hailing a yellow cab. That is not easy at 3:45 on a Friday with bad weather, especially when you want to go to Brooklyn. Here's the thing, by law an on duty cab has to take you anyplace in the city. So what do cabs do? The turn on both the on duty and off duty lights. Then when they stop and ask you where you are going and you say "Brooklyn" they say, "I'm off duty" and drive away. It was hard enough just getting a cab to stop. I just missed two of them. I kept moving around trying to find the perfect location. I had no luck so I went back to the building and got one of my suitcases, I left the rest in the lobby. I figured I'd look like someone going ot the airport. They love airport fares. It worked. A cab stopped. He was going off duty but he was a mensch and took me anyway. At first he complained then he adjusted. Of course part of that was wanting a good tip. I did make it to The Last Homely House in time and was able to walk to the apartment I was going to see. I liked the apartment and I told the guy that would be my roommate that I'd take it. He has to show it to other people and will let me know.

So now comes the part that's pure me. I've had this hectic and distraught few days. the night before I was despondent. I ran around yesterday like crazy. I was emotionally and physically exhausted. So what did I do after seeing the apartment? I hopped on the subway and went back to the City for a show.

It was only because it was something special, Tammy Faye Starlite. I might not have seen her since 2004 when she did a show with Jason Trachtenburg of all people I had totally forgotten that.

You didn't remind me about the laundry. It's on your head. I'll be back.

Guess what it still had two minutes left, no harm no foul. I'll forgive you.

OK now back to Tammy Faye Starlite. I first saw her about 20 years ago in a musical "Co-ed Prison Sluts," aka "the Musical from Hell." That was Carey and Shelly's assessment which speaks more to their lack of taste than the show's. And they didn't even see the show, just heard my cassette recording of it. I thought it was brilliant and hilarious. After that I saw that Tammy in a series of comedy/improve/performance art pieces. Tammy Faye Starlite is not her name but one of the characters she created, the one that took over her career. Ms. Startlite is a country singer/right wing evangelical/drug addict/slut. She performs songs like "God has a tenant in my uterus." She has tried to get me the evil Jew in the audience to convert." I should point out that the real Tammy is a not evil Jew. She is also as funny as anything, Last night she was running on all cylinders and hit all the right topics. The title of the show was D.O.O.M (Defense of Opposite Marriage). She also discussed guns and Jews and abortion and rape. "I'm so happy that the Republicans have become the party of rape." She was joined by her ex gay ex husband who was cured by Marcus Bachmann. He's a minister in Westboro Baptist Church and he officiated at an "opposite marriage" at the show. Tammy went into the audience and picked a gay man, who yeah, said he was straight, an and a gay woman, Lisa the lesbian and joined them in holy matrimony and "cured" them. It was very touching. Tammy knows exactly where to draw the line, behind her, then never looks back. Pretty much everyone on the audience laughed out loud including me.

You know you are in for an unusual show when it starts with a woman with tons of makeup on and a wedding dress whose neck line was more fitting for a Vegas cocktail waitress who wants very big tips comes out and sings "The Battle Hymn of the Republic." As you know that was one of my favorite songs as a kid and it still is. It was done as farce but I still love that song. She followed it with Cheap Trick's, "Surrender" down with right wing Christian lyrics.

I was surprised that someone I know is in her band, Rich Feridun who used to play with Amy Speace. Andy Burton who played with Amy and Maura Kennedy was in the audience. The only other person I knew there was Jim Bessman who I expected as he wrote about the show, Tammy Faye Starlite's outrageous 'DOOM 2012' tour comes to The Duplex.

That reminds me I was going to lead by saying I went to a gay bar. Oh well, I'll save that for the blurb on Facebook. I've been there before and didn't know it was a gay bar. When people are there for a show it doesn't function as a gay bar. Not that there weren't gays there. Lisa the Lesbian really is same sex married to to Jen, the woman she was there with. I had a lot of fun talking to them, Andy, and Andy's wife Debbie after the show. Cause you know what? They are all in one sense or another my people; as of course is Tammy. I spoke to her after the show too. As usual I couldn't drag myself away from the fun people.

Jim them Andy, then Tammy mentioned that Tammy did a Nico tribute show. I was shocked because I hadn't heard about it. Then I looked at my blog today and see that I had heard about and meant to see it but missed it. She's doing it again in January. I hope I can make it. So you see that Carey, Tammy is doing a tribute to Nico so you have to admit that she's cool and she was in "Co-Ed Prison Sluts" so it isn't the musical from hell. Oh and if anyone thinks I mean Neko Case when I say ""Nico" you need remedial rock education ASAP.

After the show I had a fancy dinner, hot dogs, fries, and an orange drink, at Papaya King. I then indulged myself with hot chocolate on a stick. I've had it before. They put a chocolate bar on a stick and melt it in the hot milk. I haven't quite figured out how to drink it yet. Half the chocolate was unmelted when I finished the milk. I ate it on the stick and it was amazing. I am going to ask them how they suggest drinking it next time.

Then I made my way back to the Last Homely House West of the Mountains and we've come full circle. Well up to today at least. This morning I slept ridiculously late, 10:30. I never sleep past 8:30. I think everything finally caught up to me. Before I was fully awake I was in that twilight state between waking and sleep for what seems like hours. I'm guessing it really was two hours. I heard people talking in the house and thought how I really should get out of bed but just opening my eyes seemed to difficult. When I did get up my head hurt and I was tired. I needed coffee to really start to function. I'm not usually like that even when I get up at 4:30 to volunteer. I'm feeling much better but that doesn't undo all the stress I've been under.

I haven't left the Last Homely House. I'm sitting here in by the hearth writing my memoirs very much like Bilbo Baggins. Like him I'm finding it difficult to stay awake.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 22, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!