I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 15, 2009 - 12:11 p.m.

Discover my Superpower

The Chronoklepts have been at it again. Where did my morning go? I slept twos later than I would have liked. Now I'm playing catch up. I didn't update yesterday so I'm feeling the pressure. There is pent up demand for Wise Madness. That�s my demand, not My Gentle Readers'.

Has it registered that I always call you "My Gentle Readers?" Do you realize that's an homage to Isaac Asimov?

Here's my problem. I had an entry planned for yesterday that I never got to write. I subsequently did things I want to write about. Should I write a long entry including both? Should I write two entries today? Should I just save the planned entry for a rainy day? I'll play it by ear and see how I feel.

I couldn't update in my office yesterday because I was actually busy with school work. I didn't like the problems in the text book so I wrote my own and sent them to my students online. Next semester I just have to remember that I did the work and print them out before class. I'd really like to write all the problems I assign. Slowly I�m building up my supply.

After I got home from school I didn't have much time to write because I had to head out to Union Hall in Brooklyn to see Jill Sobule and Erin McKeown at Union Hall in Brooklyn. Once again I forgot that the time they give on the website is for doors not the show so I got there really early. Other than feeling rushed that wasn't a problem. I ate my dinner and hung out with friends. I had planned on meeting Aiden and Christine there. When I arrived I saw Bob and he asked me to join him at the bar while we ate. Aiden and Christine showed up before I was two bites into my food.

I didn't have a reservation for the show so I was nervous till we got in. I shouldn't have been. We were there early so we got seats in the front row. Aiden should have gotten billing. Before the show Jill told Bob that she needed a guitar pick. He told me, I asked Aiden and Christine, they're musicians, and he had one in his wallet. Latter when Jill and Erin needed someone to hold up lyrics Aiden was Johnny on the Spot again. I suggested a career as a concert facilitator to him.

Erin and Jill are a strange pairing. I would never associate them musically. Jill's music is so cerebral while Erin's affects you on a more primal level. What they have in common is boundless energy and a spirit of fun. They don't take themselves seriously.

Jill went on first and did a mixture of new songs and requests. It was the first time I didn't hear her perform my favorite song of hers, Underdog Victorious since it came out. I'm not complaining. Artists should mix things up.

I'm not nearly as familiar with Erin's material. She released a new album the day before so of course I didn't know that. Erin is always fun. Even without a band she rocks out.

Of the two I prefer Jill, I think most of my friends prefer Erin. I bet many of you have never seen Jill live and don't own any of her CDS. You should.

During the intermission I was walking to the back when I heard a familiar voice, Rita Houston from WFUV. She was joined by Laura and Sarah from the station. I can't remember the last time I ran into Rita at a show she wasn't hosting. It used to happen all the time.

Bob stayed for he second show but Christine and Aiden and I didn't. My plans to get home early were foiled as I knew they would be because I hung out with them. I was all ready last night to tell you some of the weird things we discussed but now my brain isn't working. OK, that's a lie, as we all know I don't have a brain. I just remember that we were brilliant and funny and if I could recount them to you this would be the best entry ever and you'd be in total awe of us. Two things I remember is them telling me how people in the south catch catfish by getting the fish to bite them then grabbing them by the mouth and how people get matching outfits for their dogs and themselves.

You know all those stupid quizzes that tell you your superpower? I don't need them. I actually have a superpower. I can fall asleep instantly on the subway and wake up just in time for my station. I used the power yesterday. I've only been to the Union Street stop three times in my life but I felt perfectly comfortable going to sleep once I was on the D train. I woke up as the train was pulling into the station. I can do that consistently. I'd take that over just about any of the X-Men's mutant powers. It's a lot more useful that having blasting beam coming out of my eyes or absorbing someone's powers by touching them. What the hell is Beast's power? Being blue? I'll take sleeping on the subway and not missing my stop any time. Flying might be better but if I can't take a nap while I'm flying I'm not so sure.

So it looks like I'm not going to write the philosophical entry I was planning today. I have challah in the house and that means French toast for breakfast. It's calling to me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 15, 2009
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!