I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 28, 2013 - 1:43 p.m.

Shimmy Like My Niece Kate

What's today's bitch? Unfortunately I have choices. I had to run off copies of a homework sheet for Finite Math. The new computer's default printer wasn't an actual printer. It was One Note. One Note isn't even installed on the computer. But you know, nobody actually needs to print things. It wasn't like this is a school where we give tests and handouts ... oh wait, it is. Then when I changed to a real printer I was rushing and when I said print 35 copies something screwy happened. I think it left the 1 from the default and put my 35 in front of it to make 351. All I know is the printer wouldn't stop. The stop button didn't stop it. I had already turned my computer off so I couldn't do it from there. Finally one of my colleagues thought of opening the paper tray. That stopped it after hundreds of copies had been printed.

Then after class another professor couldn't get a shared computer to print. It too had One Note as the default. But it didn't even have the right printer installed. It is always hard to find printers on our system. There are instructions printed on how to do it. I did it for her. But I think you have to do this every day as they reset it at the end of the day. What idiocy. God forbid they make things easy for the faculty or students. At least I don't have that problem with my computer. At least I have a computer. Seniority and being proactive has its rewards. They wouldn't have given anyone computers if I hadn't fought for it.

That's a lot of bitching when I have other things to write about.

Last night I went to see Supercute, my favorite teen bubblegum band. OK they are my only teen bubblegum band. But I like them enough that I will deal with the embarrassment of being one of the few adults at the show. I know Rachel Trachtenburg from the Trachtenburg Family Slideshow Players. When I first saw her she was 9. Now she's an aged showbiz veteran of 19. The TFSP were the best thing ever and I knew Rachel was special so when I heard she had a band I checked it out. Yes it's bubblegum pop, but that won't give you the right impression. Like anything Trachtenburg there is self-awareness and multiple layers. It hit me last night what the only thing close is, the music on Phineas and Ferb. That's all bubblegum pop too but it's clever and marvelous as is Supercute. I want to see them share a bill with Love Handel of P&F fame. OMG! They should cover "I'm Lindana and I wanna have fun;" also from P&F and Love Handel's "You Snuck Your Way Right Into My Heart." Rachel's a Vegan so she won't do Tiny Cowboy's hit, "Meatloaf." "Is it vegetarian?" "It has meat in the name." Supercute doesn't have a website (they should, you hear that Rachel and Julia?) but here's a link to Their Bandcamp. Listen to some songs, last night they did Candy City.

Supercute was the opener and Kate Nash who I will call my niece even though we aren't related was the headliner. All I knew was that she as some sort of internet sensation ala Justin Bieber but I figured anyone with the taste to tour with Supercute might just be all right.

A miracle just happened; I went to the picasa website to show you pictures and picasa actually opened. It didn't redirect me to the archfiend Google+. I don't know why but I'm not looking a gift horse in the mouth.

The ticket said the show started at 7 but that was when doors were. It was at the Studio at Webster Hall. I was running late and got there at 6:50 so there was a line out front when I arrived.


You can see that I don't quite fit in with that crowd.

As you can see by the number of people in front of me I did not get a spot by the stage. The good thing is that with a mostly female crowd I was taller than most of the people in front of me. Of course most is not all as you'll see in these pictures.


Rachel Trachenburg


Julia Cumming

Those are the two founding members of Supercute. There was just a lineup change. Olivia who played uke and keyboards left and was replaced by two girls I don't know on bass and drums. I wanted to hear the new sound. Too bad the sound guy totally blew it. On the first song pretty much all I could hear were the bass and the drums. The vocals and uke were set so low. Unless the bass player is exceptional the bass should be felt not heard. It is like modeling in drawing; It doesn't define the picture but it adds depth. I was there to hear Rachel and Julia and had to strain to do so.

The next song was Rock City and things were a bit better. I could recognize the song and could hear the vocals and ukes with effort. They were still overwhelmed by the bass and drums. The drums I was primarily hearing acoustically, not through the sound system.

The third song was a cover of "Paint it Black" the sound guy was finally on the ball and I could hear it clearly. Didn't they do a sound check? Didn't he know you can change things during a song? Hasn't he ever worked sound before?

The worst part was, that was it, three songs. This is what I came for. Who ever heard of an opening act getting only three songs? I expect 6 songs and about half an hour. I was going to go over and talk to Rachel and Julia at the merch table but that was impossible, It was far too crowded.

So I had a better spot for Niece Kate than I thought I would. I figured I'd give up my choice spot for her devoted fans. And they were devoted. I could hear people getting so excited. The guy in front of me shouted out "will you marry me?" She said yes. Then it came out that he's been following her around on tour and has been shouting that each stop and she's said "yes" each time. "What I tell you three times is true." So I say they are engaged. She pretty much agreed. She handled it great.

So I had hopes for Kate but was prepared for the worst. I know she isn't the worst but I can't judge well because the sound was all out of whack again. I could hear her sing but not the lyrics. She was overwhelmed by the bass too. The sound guy has a thing for bass. So this is what I could tell. She plays No Adjective Rock. That made me happy. There is always a place for straight ahead Rock 'n' Roll or there should be. I'm happy that kids get to hear some. She has lots of energy and bounces around the stage and has charming stage banter. I liked her. As for her music I couldn't hear it well but it had a good beat, you can dance to it. I'll give it a 6. Well I should, she's my niece. Interesting thing she's not particularly attractive, not unattractive, just not super cute so to speak. She was wearing was basically a shapeless moo moo. I am pretty sure she wasn't obese so it was odd choice. But despite that I heard a kid say after the show, "she's so sexy!" It shows you how much personality has to do with it.

How did it get so late? I had revelations to share with you. I might have to write again later. I was going to go home but maybe I'll stay here and write. I can't even talk about dinner if I want to grab some lunch now.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 28, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!