I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 27, 2013 - 3:53 p.m.

Canty You Hear Me Now

I hate that the default style on Word is to skip two lines when you hit return and you have to go through a whole rigmarole to change it. You have to revert to the old styles of an old version. Why not simply give you the option of having "No Spacing" be your default?

So this is my new thing? I start of by bitching about something? I love how these things evolve. I never plan them, they just happen.

OK a few things I want to talk about. I had my therapy by phone yesterday in my office. I was lucky in that for the most part nobody was around. A few times somebody walked in to grab something then walked right out. One, someone I like, didn't close the door when he left. How do people not get that simple idea; you are supposed to have learned it in kindergarten.

And yes I do like some of my colleagues. I just write about the annoying ones. There are quite a few I like quite a bit.

When I finished writing Wise Madness I found that I didn't know my diaryland password. Thanks to my new computer I had to reenter it. The "forget your password?" link didn't work so I had to mail it to myself and post from home. I just checked. It's an old password and I got the capitalization wrong. Of course now the entire site is down. You can read my blog but none of the user interfaces are working. If they don't fix that you wont; read this. In which case you won't read me saying you won't read this. Norman Coordinate.

After mailing myself the entry I raced downtown to see Caitlin Canty and hopefully grab some dinner first. As soon as I got on the subway I realized that I forgot to stop at the bank to deposit my paycheck and get cash. I resigned myself to using an atm and having to pay. I got there about 20 minutes before showtime and figured I better go in and grab a seat since there are so few at Rockwood. I did and I saw two guys setting up on stage, not Caitlin. I checked out front where it lists the performers. Caitlin was on at 8 and I was there at 7. I might have mentioned that I'm an idiot.

That changed everything. I had dinner at Lucky Burger then walked 0.4 miles to the nearest TD bank. I took the back one stop as time was getting close. I needed to. I grabbed the last seat available. It was right down front. That's one of the few places I don't like that. You look straight up at the performer and it's a very tight squeeze.

I'm going to be stalking Caitlin for a bit or is that the other way around. she's doing On Your Radar and I think one more show. I plan on going to. There things so often go in streaks. Why? because I notice the streaks.

Caitlin is one of the artists that I have trouble writing about. There's no hook. Maybe that's what I have against singer/songwriters, they are harder to write about? Caitlin isn't quirky, her songs aren't funny, she doesn't write about esoteric things, she' just writes and performs really well. She did have quirky banter. She was talking off mic to her sideman but we could all hear it and she started talking off mic about how we could all hear the random comments she was making. He sideman, I wish I knew his name, looked like a young Peter Noone. Back to her songwriting. What I like is that it's poetic. She creates imagery. It isn't a self indulgent spouting of her feelings.

I was going to call it quits but remembered something. I was being my usual curmudgeon on the WfUV Question of the Day group. Someone said I wanted abuse and I said "I'm the H. L. Mencken of the group. So I read his Wikipedia article; read this.

A keen cheerleader of scientific progress, he was very skeptical of economic theories and particularly critical of anti-intellectualism, bigotry, populism, fundamentalist Christianity, creationism, organized religion, the existence of God, and osteopathic/chiropractic medicine.

Doesn't that sound like me? I could be the Sage of Bayside, Briarwood, or Brooklyn. I only live in places that start with a B.

So let me Mencken about something. Many perhaps most of my friends have switched their Facebook Profile pic to some variant of the red thing with stripes that shows you support gay marriage. I didn't and I won't. I'm being like Kramer who refused to wear the AIDS ribbon when he did the AIDS walk. Obviously it isn't because I don't support same-sex marriage. I have written of my support of it many times. It's just that it's preaching to the choir. I'm not sure if I have any friends that aren't for same-sex marriage. It reminds me of Tom Lehrer's Folk Song Army, "I'm against poverty, war, and destruction not like the rest of you squares."

I'd be uncomfortable adopting the profile pic. It a meme about something serious. It smells of group think. It gives the illusion of doing something. It would have been great 10 maybe even five years ago. It would help move the Overton Window. But that's not needed now. It is not only an acceptable viewpoint it's the majority one.

Politicians are now jumping on the band wagon giving dramatic accounts about how they evolved and now support same sex marriage. Oddly enough the one who hit exactly the right note was Rudy Guiliani. I despise him but you have to give the devil his due. Years ago, before he tried to run for President he was asked if he thought gays should be allowed to marry and he gave the exactly correct response, "Of course." that was it. It was something so obvious that it didn't require an explanation.

Another thing that bothers me is that most people's pics look alike. A few were creative. I can't tell the players even with a program. I'm a huge fan of Jackie Robinson. I made sure to be at Shea Stadium the day they retired his number from major league baseball. What I don't like is when they honor him by having all the players were his number, my favorite number, 42. It defeats the practical purpose of having numbers.

I felt funny writing this because some of my very favorite people in the world adopted the profile pic. Make that most of my very favorite people in the world. And there is nothing wrong with it. It just isn't me.

Now it's time for an omelet. I couldn't find pepper jack so I got 4 Mexican cheese mix.

Diaryland is still down. I'll try again later.

I almost forgot to post this


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 27, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!