I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-03-15 - 10:09 a.m.

Smegheads.diaryland.com

The world is conspiring to prevent me from getting enough sleep. For no apparent reason my old typewriter table began to rattle at 5AM this morning. Then I had my usual Crohn's disease related problems so I'm not exactly rested now.

I forgot to mention it but yesterday was Einstein's birthday. Happy birthday Albert. The best compliment I ever got about my looks is that I looked like Einstein. I knew there was an upside to have bad hair and looking disheveled.

Yesterday was also Pi day. Lawrence pointed this out to me. At 1:59:26 it was 3/14 1:59. Pi is 3.1415926� .

I actually stopped class then and pointed it out. I told them that Lawrence made me do it. After I told them I realized I should have given pies to the class. maybe next year.

Yesterday was hectic, after school I raced home, changed and went to see my father. I stayed about an hour then had to race back to the LIRR so I could go to the Knick game. At least I feel I'm getting my money's worth out of my monthly pass.

The Knicks have been doing awful. They played the team with the best record in the NBA. So what happened? They won by 17 points!! You can never figure that stuff out. Of course I'm rooting for them to lose so they can get a better draft pick. They will end up with either the 5th or 6th worst record now. I bet they blow their pick anyway. They haven't made a good one since 1988, when they drafted Rod Strickland. I won my personal game with Alan; I'm down two games with 8 games remaining. Wish me luck.

I was talking about the other day about people making disparaging remarks about people's looks. I think I've only been called ugly or unattractive, twice. Both times I knew it was somebody just trying to hurt me so it didn't hurt. Of course no one actually has called me attractive either.

Carey said the other day that people remember us because of the way we look. Now Carey is easy for me to classify. She's the beautiful redhead with the big smile. What am I? The weirdo with the unkempt hair and bad posture? The two things that people have commented on more than once are that I smile a lot and that my eyes sparkle. Carey says that I have crazy eyes like Christopher Lloyd in Back to the Future. When Ira was casting the movie of his life he cast Mr. Lloyd as me so maybe there is something to that.

Don't you hate it when they use an episode of a show you watch at a pilot for a new show? They bring in all these new characters and then you are really watching a different show. I remember Married with Children did that for some awful show starring Joe Montegna and Matt LeBlanc. Good thing people don't do that with diaries.

Speaking of which I've started a new diary, Annoying People. Anyone can update it. There is a link on the bottom of the page to update. The idea is that if you run into someone really annoying you make a rant about it there and share your pain. I of course have no control about what people write but I'm hoping that it filled with rants about strangers. I don't want people complaining about their ex-wives and such. Just those pests we all have to deal with every day. The two classes of annoying people I run into the most are bad drivers and miserable employees in the service sector. That woman at Popeye's that couldn't believe that Carey wanted to actually wait for her sandwich was a classic.

Go there right now and write an update. If you don't I'm going to whine and complain here till you get so annoyed that you'll write about me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-03-15
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!