I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 03, 2013 - 4:45 p.m.

Sighness

No I'm not dead but I'm not well either. The reason I haven't been writing is that I've had a totally debilitating sinus headache every day that starts when I'm planning on writing. I could write on Tuesday because I had time later in the day to get it in. I haven't since then. I think I feel one coming on now. I'll try and finish this before it knocks me out of commission. I was lucky and was able to teach as the worst of it was over when I had my afternoon class. It still hurt and I told my students that they had to be easy on me or my head would fall off and they'd have to clean it up.

It's a shame that I couldn't write as I've recovered in the evenings and was able to go out and did things I'd like to write about. Now I'll give you a short version of it.

On Thursday night I went to see a new duo, Molly Venter of Red Molly and Eben Pariser of Roosevelt Dime. I'm always shocked I can spell Eben's name right. The show was at Rockwood Music hall. I went straight from school, I got there later than I wanted to so I couldn't get a seat. but was rewarded for my tardiness. I recognized the back of the beautiful head (or is that the beautiful back of the head) of Laurie MacAllister (I have known Laurie for seven or eight years, know her well, and still have trouble spelling her last name).

Molly and Even were great. Pretty much what you'd expect of Roosevelt Dime and Red Molly to be. I'm listening to their album "Goodnight Moonlight" now.

When they were finished I stayed to talk to Laurie and Anthony. He walked in after the show started and was standing behind me with me noticing. While we are all talking we started noticing the next act. we thought he was just sound checking but he had actually started singing. We felt bad because nobody was paying attention including us. Then we notice, "He's not bad which morphed into he's good, which became he's great. How great is he? Anthony had to leave to work but Laurie went next door where Molly and Eben were having a post show party and I stayed to hear the end of the set. You know there is pretty much nothing I like more than hanging out with friends after a show but I couldn't pull myself away. I stayed to the end and introduced myself to him. His name is Charlie Parr. As Laurie and I combined to say, It's like Charlie Parker without the ker. Check out his website. He plays a steel guitar like nobody's business and writes wonderful bizarre lyrics about masterdons and people badgers. I love those rare occasions when I just stumble upon a great musician

I just heard the best thing in the world Molly and Eben's mashup of Pink Floyd's '"Time" with "Somewhere Over the Rainbow," I knew there was a reason I loved those two

Remember what I did during the next two daytimes was work hard on keeping my head from falling off my shoulders from the pain. Sinus headaches hurt like hell,. On Friday I drove Celebrian to an appointment. I fell right back into driving with no problem butr the headache hit right before the drive home. I went right to bed but having my head low lying down was not good for it. I ended up in the rocking chair with my feet up. The subway ride to school was not fun but I managed to fall asleep.

I was able to play with Carey on turntable.fm after teaching. I did a pretty good job considering I was still not right most of the time. It did finally clear up.

Then I was off to see Spuyten Duyvil (spite-en-dive-uhll). Now that I can spell. I thought I was marching for them but instead I was the videographer. That was fun. It's a great theater with stadium seating. I essentially had a box to myself top center. It took me a little while to figure out the camera's and more importantly the stand's idiosyncrasies but I got it done. Once again I had to forgo the after concert party to do work. Then I was too tired to get things done.

Saturday was more headaches then a house concert, Honor Finnegan and Anna Dagmar at Notes from Home in Montclair. Fred drove. My headache cleared up during the drive. We got there about 20 minutes early which I knew was fine as I've done that before at Chris's. It's a hard place to time q trip to from New York so I'm often early or late and I'd rather be early. As both Fred and I know the musicians well it was fun getting there and having the extra socializing time. Plus we got the best seats on the couch. What I think of as my seat.

Anna and Honor are both chicks with dip and I've written about them many times before so I think I can get by without going into detail. I loved the running joke of the evening that they had a cat fight in the green room and were feuding. Yes it was a joke. I think they should be a duo just because their names go so well together, Anna and Honor sound alike even though they have only one letter in common, especially if you are a New Yorka that drops the final r.

So I spent three days in agony not being able to accomplish anything and had three evenings of great music and great company.

I have another house concert today. There is so much I have to do, make the event for March On Your Radar and this week's Christopher Street Coffeehouse. Write a friend who is worried about me because between anxiety and headaches I couldn't write back to him. And go to the bank and get some food for the pot luck for today's party. I might have to forgo that. Getting anything done is still a struggle. A miracle happened and writing this came smoothly. Maybe that will foreshadow things to come.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 03, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!