I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 12, 2010 - 11:41 a.m.

Everyone Should Have ...

I have a bit of a headache. I never get headaches when I'm not sick with fever and I don't have a fever. I don't know what this is about. I'll try and write through this. My Gentle Readers are more important than my comfort.

When I started writing this every one of my readers had his or her own blog. Do any of you now regularly update? I used to be the old guy blogging. Now I think I'm a dinosaur. RAWR! Like I wouldn't want to be a dinosaur. They discovered a new dinosaur on display at the American Museum of Natural History.


That's a mojosaurus. Don't you love the name? It has sitting in the museum's collection misidentified and misreconstructed for over 75 years. You can read about it for yourself, From Museum Basement a "New" Dinosaur.

This is going to be a geeky entry. Just letting you know.

I went to the Met game yesterday. The Mets actually won! Johann Santana pitched 7 shutout innings and the relief pitchers didn't blow his victory for a change. The Mets won 3-0. Three runs is a lot for the Mets recently. They had three players playing that don't belong in the majors and a few borderline players. You can't expect to score with three players, not including the pitcher, in the starting lineup with an OBP of less than .300. You shouldn't have one. Still I love a pitcher's duel and Santana is as good as they come. He's had some shaky starts and his arm doesn't seem to be 100% but he always does better the second half the season.

I did something I usually don't do. I bought food at the game, a Blue Smoke pulled pork sandwich. CitiField has great food and I wanted to take advantage of it for a change.

Happy? I got what I ate into the entry. Actually I'll write more. I treated myself for dinner. Not only did I make a good steak and French Fries but I stopped at the Italian bakery after the game and bought a Napoleon for dessert. I haven't taken advantage of the bakery in ages.

Everyone should have a dog. The other day I was walking and saw a woman with two adorable dogs. I looked at the dogs and smiled she saw me doing that and looked at me and smiled, and I looked at her and smiled. The dogs facilitated two people treating each other as humans. Dogs do that. I so often make eye contact and smile at people with dogs and they return the smile. If you smile at strangers without dogs they get suspicious. If everyone had a dog the world would be a friendlier place.

Everyone should have a robot. I told you this was a geeky entry.


That is from a great article in the Times, Students Meet Your New Teacher, Mr. Robot. I was going to embed the video from it but it won't let me do that now. It would have yesterday. They are making robot teachers that interact with kids! I want one. I won't be living in the future of my childhood until everyone has a robot, preferably made by US Robots and Mechanical Men. I'd settle for Robbie from Forbidden Planet. Hell I'd settle for Robot from Lost in Space. Every kid should have a bubbleheaded robot that says, "Danger Will Robinson!"

Everyone should have a blog where they can tell everyone what everyone should have.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 12, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!