I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 19, 2016 - 9:30 p.m.

A Simple Guide to Life

I should be asleep now but I'm just starting to write. I don't have much to say so I'll keep it short. I could pretty much be. I'm tired.

I had another bad night's sleep last night. I fell asleep quickly but woke up around midnight to a strange dream. I was watching primary returns on my phone. The format looked like a baseball player's stat sheet. The interface was like tinder sliding the charts off to the left or right. The page headings were Sanders or Clinton but I have no idea what was written on the charts. Don't ask me who won. Wait ask me tomorrow and I'll like and give the exact results of the election and some people will still believe my dream revealed the future.

Reading what people say about the election is just like reading what people say about anything. So many otherwise intelligent people blindly repeat things without checking facts. Some will just make up an explanation that fits their prejudice. I have zero patience for that.

I'm upset that I couldn't vote today. In the end the reason is my anxiety. I couldn't face things I would have had to face to register. I will register before the general election. I hate having to reregister every time I move but that's what you have to do.

I resigned myself to getting to WFUV at 6:30 instead of as early I can after 6:00 That means sleeping an extra 35 minutes and getting there only 10 minutes later. No exciting stories to tell, I saw Jim of course, Gayle, Tom, or was that yesterday? Fred not Fred, and people I don't talk to on Facebook. I found out that Fred knows Christine and Aiden AKA Friction Farm. They all went to RPI though that's not how he met them. I took a selfie of the two of us and sent it to Christine so she can have worlds colliding.

You can tell things went smoothly as I didn’t flirt with Danielle from membership. If I call her "Lovely Danielle" that means I need her help. I did flirt with Shannon who does the morning news because that's what I do in the morning by the coffee. I had to make Which Shannon I meant as Shannon Spillane who is one of the hosts of Ceol na nGael was answering phones and she's a student so flirting would be creepy.

A highlight of the day was telling Gayle about Joe and Emily and their kids and showing her this video. This video is always a highlight of just about anything. This was at the New Bedford Folk Festival and this should be enough to convince you the festival is special.

Gayle teared up when she saw it. I did not tell her what would happen. So yes I live in a world where people will accuse people with no evidence and believe what they want to uncritically but I also live in a world where that can happen.

I'm putting this together and came up with this. John Adams and Thomas Jefferson showed they were made of deeper stuff than most politicians. They spent 20 years corresponding with each other on the what constitutes morality. Adams decided that it was simply to be just and good. To this I'd add rational, skeptical, kind, appreciative of beauty, and silly. Oh and of course give me and my friends chocolate. Everything else is arguing over details and change with time and conditions. Those always hold true.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 19, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!