I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-03-18 - 1:39 a.m.

Don't mention Lisa

I started writing an entry this morning that I didn't get to finish. I'm going to save it for a slow day during the week though. It's better that way anyway as I am going to spend a lot of time on it and not as many people read this on the weekends.

Yesterday I didn't have a very interesting day. I did laundry, visited my father and went to the Knick game. They actually managed to win their second game in a row. That has been a very rare occurrence this season. As much as intellectually I know it is better that they lose to improve their draft position I still find that I have to root for them to win.

Alan won our personal guess the score game. He is up by 3 with only 7 games left in the season. Oh well baseball season is around the corner and I'll get my revenge then.

Today I went to see Christine Lavin with Lisa. The show was at the Acoustic Café in Bridgeport CT that meant lots of driving and a hard time being punctual. The show was a 5 and the plan was for me to pick Lisa up at 3. I had to leave my father at 2 to get to Lisa in Brooklyn on time. I got there a few minutes late but traffic getting out of Brooklyn was bad. The BQE was totally at a standstill so I took the long way around, The Belt Parkway to the Cross Island. Traffic wasn't great there either and we didn't get to the Bronx till after 4. That meant I really had to make great time in Connecticut to make up for it. We ended up getting there about 10 minutes late, which wasn't too bad. We were able to order our food and get settled before the show started.

Christine was her usual wonderful self. She didn't know I was there till she asked for Jeopardy winners in the audience and I raised my hand. For the second time someone asked me if I was a plant. I don't see any chlorophyll so I guess I'm not.

The guy who won the Mr. Bridgeport contest, Rick was not happy about it. Christine made him go onstage to sing Sensitive New Age Guys and he just wanted to sit down and be left alone. When Christine brought him up his 8-year-old daughter said, "My daddy already has a wife." That was a tough line for even Christine to follow. I joined him onstage of course as did a 10-year-old boy. For the first time that I've seen Christine did a bowdlerized version of SNAG, she left out the orgasm line.

While I looked around during the intermission I noticed that Oliver's kazoo was missing from the wall. To refresh the memories of you slackers who don't have all my entries memorized, the last time I was there I saw that Oliver Steck had put his kazoo on the wall where other musicians leave their guitar pics. His autograph was still there but the kazoo was gone. I was quite disappointed.

As often happens Christine talking to me led to getting friendly with the people nearby me. They were a couple that were regular listeners to WFUV but had never seen Christine before. I gathered that they decided to discover the joys of live music. Good for them. I love WFUV and I love CDs but there is nothing like being there as the music is being made.

During the intermission Christine actually wrote a new song, all about Rick, the Mr. Bridgeport winner. I have never seen her do that before. Despite the rapidity of composition it worked.

After the show we talked to Christine of course. Lisa told her, her alternate ending to The Polka Dancing Bus Driver and the 40 Year Old Mystery. and I told her that I thought her baton twirling and guitar playing had improved. I went to buy a CD for Leah but Christine gave it to me. Leah you better bug me to send it to you!!

Lisa asked if she could adopt Christine as her mother. Christine is so talented and so lovable.

On the ride up Lisa was really tired and slept most of the way. We made up for it on the ride home. Lisa is a great person to road trip with, she always keeps me interested. She gave me a great compliment too. I mentioned that she might find some of my friend's friends pretentious. I then added that of course I'm pretentious too. She said that I was too lovable to be pretentious.

One of the things we talked about was this guy she met at a singles weekend. She said that he was so charismatic that he always had lots of beautiful women around him and she didn't know why he chased after her. The irony of course is that Lisa is a very beautiful woman. Doesn't anyone beautiful realize it?

When we got back to her apartment after a hunt looking for parking I tried to help her get Earthlink and AIM set up. I wasn't 100% successful, she has a Mac and there were things I didn't know how to do. It is usable now though and I showed her how to get her mail, the most important thing. While doing that I feasted on natural peanut butter and cashew butter, my efforts were well rewarded.

I finally got home after midnight. I had put on over 185 miles on my car today. Not bad for a "local" show. I put on so much more mileage going to shows than I do anything else. Most days I just drive a mile to and from the train station.

When I was planning this in my head I was going to include something that was somewhat self-pitying and would have made lots of people go, "Awwww." There is always a temptation when writing an online diary to make confessions and show your pain. Part of me thinks of that as being honest and part of me thinks of it as just doing what's expected of me. I always figure that baring my soul is good for the ratings. I resisted the temptation today though. I don't think it would really have added any insight into my psyche. I'll try to make that the test of when to spill my guts.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-03-18
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!