I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 08, 2013 - 10:54 a.m.

Put a Fork In Her She's Dunn

First off pretty much nobody read my last entry where I reviewed the Hobbit. Now go back and read that. Finished? After writing my second blog of the day in my office I raced downtown to see the Laudable Laura Dunn. She was playing at one of my favorite haunts of the 1990s The Sidewalk Café in the East Village. I couldn't resist eating at Crif Dogs on St. Marks. I had the breakfast dog, A Crif Dog wrapped in bacon with a fried egg and cheese, and fries. Time was tight so I had it to go and ate it as I walked. I didn't have time to finish the fries and took them into the Sidewalk with me. I felt funny about that as they serve food. If I had remembered that earlier I would have just eaten there.

Things were running a bit behind and the act before her, Brute Force, was still on. He was neuro, somewhere between stand up comedy and a singer/songwriter on piano. He'd fit in with the Trachtenburg Family Slideshow players. That's a good thing.

When I walked in I saw Laura and Kirk sitting in the corner. I was going to join them but I couldn't sit with them during the show as they are the show, so I chose the next table over which is in the perfect position for me. I was surprised that Craig, her fiancé wasn't there but he came in with some friends and they sat on the other side of me.

When was the last time I saw Laura? It's been far longer than usual. I see Kirk even more often as he plays with bass with a lot of people I like but I haven't seen him since NERFA in November. This show was clearly needed. I did see Laura and Craig socially at the Anaïs Mitchell show at the Bowery. That was appropriate as I associate Laura with Anaïs . They are both have high voices, wrote folk operas, and have the malevolent look of someone with a 250 IQ. They are also both people I feel comfortable saying that to.

I needed my Laura musical fix, creepy folk as she puts it. That came out "creppy" at first which made me think crepery. Now I want folk music folded into a thin pancake preferably with chocolate and peanut butter.

Laura did some old songs from her albums plus some new ones from her upcoming folk opera based on The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Anderson. So I have two friends that have written folk operas, Anaïs , and Laura, and two friends or sets of friends that have written musical dramas based on HCA fairy tales. GrooveLily wrote Striking 12 based on the Little Match Girl. Laura also wrote a folk opera based on The Little Mermaid. Do any of you know anyone else that has done either? Do I actually get credit for all this as I'm clearly the source since only my friends do these things? Think I can talk them into giving me royalties? Laura was joined on a few songs with her friend Kendy Gable. She is an excellent singer and Laura assures me an excellent songwriter too.

Here is a measure of how much I love Laura's music. I'm going to miss Joe Crookston to see the reading of the Snow Queen next weekend. I have been jonesing to see Joe for ages. He is high on my pantheon of singer/songwriters and one of my favorite people to talk to. I hope he comes back some time soon. I need my fix but I've never been to a staged reading and I have not heard the entire opera so it wins. I hope you can forgive me Joe. Think of it as incentive to play New York again soon.

After Laura's set we hung around for the next performer. sorry, I forgot his name. He reminded me a bit of Greg Klyma. One of Laura's friends, I think Kendy, took this picture.


Laura posted on FB "Come drink pink frothy margaritas and listen to spooky music." I said "I'm going but I am NOT drinking a pink frothy margarita and you can't make me." Think I drank it? Some things might remain a mystery like Laura's other friend that joined us after her set whose name totally escapes me.

After the show Laura, Craig, Kirk, and I all waked to the L train. Kirk went in the opposite direction and I got off in a few stops but it still gave us more socializing time.

I had not planned on it being a late night but We got on the subway around 12:30. Then there were issues with the . It ran in two parts. The first to Atlantic Terminal then I had to switch tracks to go the rest of the way. The Brooklyn part ran every half hour. It was pulling out of the station when I got to the platform. That was bad timing. All the people that needed to make the transfer on my train missed it. We'd have had to run the entire way to make it. Then the next train was 10 minutes late. I got home at around 2 AM.

I just got a text and call from school that it is closing down at 4 PM because of the snow, Of course I don't have any classes aft4er 4 PM? Should I be adventurous and brave the Blizzard to see Laura again tonight at the Postcrypt? Probably not but maybe. I also might go to the Muesum of American Folk Art for their weekly show. I don't know the performers but it's free and four blocks from school. lt's also an early show, 5:30. I'll have to monitor the weather. Now it's time for brunch. I think it's poached eggs today.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 08, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!