I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 12, 2012 - 11:13 a.m.

Sachs and Dunn is not a Law Firm

Here's what it's like being me. I was sitting at my computer ready to start writing and realized that I needed to get my camera since I have pictures on it that I want to show you. I got up and first went to the door to bring the NY Times in. Then I walked in the kitchen to throw out the plastic bag it came in. While I was there I had some orange juice. Then I came back to the computer. Whoops I forgot to get the camera. I got up, Walked to the bag my camera is in and realized I was hungry so I went back in the kitchen and ate a banana. I then came back to the computer again. Yes once again I forgot the camera. I got up a third time for the camera and actually remembered it. It really isn't easy not having a brain. This has nothing to do with growing old. I've been like this my entire life.

Last night I had the leftover potato bacon soup. It was just as good if not better. That's another reason for me to make it more often. I usually dislike leftovers. This way I can cook for two days at once and potatoes are often the most time consuming thing I make. I had grilled curry chicken as the main course. That was a very good dinner. Tonight I might have to grab something on the run, probably pizza.

My mother made dinner at 5:30 every night. That worked out well. I could eat then go out afterward. Now I usually eat closer to 9 o'clock, that doesn't work when I'm going out and I go out a lot. Last night I had to go out and didn't want to eat out so I was back to eating before 6:00. Maybe I'll try and make that a habit.

I went out to was to see Laura Dunn and the Ghost of Xmas Past and Paul Sachs at a new venue for me, Le Chéile. I thought the name was French and wasn't sure how to pronounce it. When I got there I discovered it was Irish and is pronounced. leh kāy-lah; it means "together." It's all the way up in Washington Heights, right by the George Washington Bridge. That's quite a trip from here. I left a bit later than I wanted and got there a couple of minutes late. I'm never late. No matter, they started a few minutes late. Maybe they were waiting for me.

The music is in a small side room off the side of the main restaurant bar. The effect was something like Googie's Lounge; it's nice and intimate but there is a lot of sound bleed from the main room. There were also some poltergeists making mysterious noises during Laura's set. Maybe they saw that the Ghosts of Xmas Past were playing and wanted to say hi to their ghastly friends.

There was not a large crowd and all of us socialized before the show. Don't ask me to remember anyone's name. I learned Dana's. I talked to her after the show. But everyone was fun.

Paul was up first. I had seen him perform a few songs but never a complete set before. I had heard good things about him, he's a fun person to talk to, and I had liked what I heard so I expected to like him. I was not disappointed. I've been thinking of his style. This is open to revision but now it strikes me that musically it is personal singer/songwriter but his lyrics are often closer to traditional folk, telling a story, not revealing his inner feelings. He gave me his album and I'll see him again so we'll see if that impression still holds when I get to know him better. He manages to be both not generic and not quirky at the same time. The important compliment is that I invited him to play The Budgiedome.

Laura was up next. I just discovered her in December but this was my third time I've seen her do a set. She has rapidly become a favorite of mine. The band had a different configuration than the other times I saw her though Kirk was there on bass every time. Laura still has new band smell so I'm still coming up with new things to say about her. She performed at the Jack Hardy Tribute at the Christopher Street Coffee House and covered one of his songs again last night. What strikes me most about Laura is her songwriting, but hearing her do a cover showed me how much of what I like comes from her singing. It has what I started to call an otherworldly quality but that isn't quite it. It is not just displaced in space but in time. She sings as one of the Tuatha Dé Danann might if she had lived for the centuries among us after her people were sent underground. She calls her music creepy, and it is, but it is far more than that. I would love to hear Eric Lee play with her. When he plays his own material his violin has a similar quality. Maybe I can arrange that at the Budgiedome some time. They are both invited to play.

After the show I wanted to make a quick getaway as it's a long trip home. I put my coat right on then realized I should hit the bathroom first so I took it off. When I came back everyone was talking and I joined the discussion. At first I stood because I was ready to leave then I sat. And I stayed, And I didn't leave till Laura, Dana, and Kirk did. I am not very good at leaving people I enjoy talking to. I got to stay in their company a bit longer as they shared the A train with me as far down as Harlem.

Getting home took a while but I used the time to finally finish last week's NY Times Magazine crossword. I finished but with only with help. I was stuck and looked at one answer in the solution given in this week's magazine.

Tonight I lucked out and I'm going to see Cherish the Ladies with Susan. She won tickets from WFUV and asked on Facebook who wanted to go with her. No way I was going to pass that up.

I've written a lot and I want to eat but I can't not acknowledge three birthdays. It's Aubrey's birthday, my oldest friend. I'll give him a call as soon as I finish eating. Maybe even before then.

It's also the birthday of two of my heroes of heroes. Do you know who? One used to be a holiday here, Abraham Lincoln. The other is Charles Darwin. It very much doubt there is another day where two people I admire as much share a birthday.

Oh remember how I kept forgetting to get my camera. Now I forgot to post the photos.


Paul


Laura and Kirk


The Ghosts of Xmas Past


Paul joins the Ghosts



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 12, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!