I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 04, 2013 - 11:06 a.m.

Live is a Cabaret My Friend

I'm not sure why but I hardly slept last night. Well part, maybe all of it was a physical problem I'm not going to get into. Even though I could try sleeping now I'm going to write instead because My Gentle Readers come first.

I've mentioned these things before but let's if you've been paying attention,. Where did I get "My Gentle Readers" from. I think other people used it but I got it from one author, a favorite of mine.

I did stuff yesterday so I don't have to get creative. Aren't you lucky? I had a fun therapy session which probably isn't good. Sometimes I just use her as a person to talk about the things I can't talk about with anybody else. I pay her to be my best friend. Sort of pathetic if you think about it that way. So let's not.

I wonder what she'd make of that. She seems to think I have self esteem problems. I think if I do they might just be that I have too much. I think I'm pretty terrific. Sure I have a fatal flaw but you need that for drama. Just ask Aristotle.

After therapy I was very good. I called Reggie at school and found that the student who missed the final came in to take it yesterday morning so I headed up there and graded it. I was so proud that I knew where the answer key was, in my drawer. I had told her that she shouldn't bother that she did so poorly on the tests I couldn't see her passing. I wish I could say I was wrong, but of course I wasn't.

So this is why I was proud of myself. My therapy is in the village. I had to take two trains and go up to Columbus Circle, grade the test, then get back to he village in at most a couple of hours. I preferred it to be a hour and a half. I could have just hung around the village and had something nice to eat.

As it was I faced a deluge when I left school. I was going to go to the bank but it was raining so hard that I headed straight for the subway which is right by the school's entrance. Even with an umbrella and only running about 75 feet I got uncomfortably wet.

It was still raining when I got to the village so after stopping at an ATM with a fee that was right by the subway exit I ran across sixth avenue to my destination, Duplex, a cabaret that Yelp describes as a "gay bar." I was there to see Julie Gold and her guest Christine Lavin. Julie had a bimonthly series there. I'm not going to tell you if that means twice a month or once every two months. If you look it up you'll remember it for good.

Wow I lost about an hour there answering comments on Facebook. I'm back. I'm going to ignore the two comments that came in as I wrote this sentence.

The plan was for me to get a seat and Katherine would join me. I should have been the first on online but I forgot to wait upstairs. I was in the downstairs bar so people were there before me. One was Bob. I thought he would probably be at the show. We were the second ones in and took a table near but at the front. We were joined by two more people, they pack it in there, Robert and Kathleen. So when we were all seated the names around the table were Robert, Kath, Robert, Kath, and Horvendile. The world clearly needs more names.

The next one in after us was Suzzy Roche who sat at the next table. She was busy on her phone so I didn't say hello. I'm not sure she knows who I am even though I've been seeing her one year longer than I've been seeing Christine, 1988. But Bob thought she was looking at me and wanted to say something but I was busy talking to him and then other people came and sat between us. So I never said hi. Suzzy if you read this, "Hi."

Up to six FB alerts.

Katherine got a bit behind and got there just as the first song started. She took her seat when it was done. It's such a tight fit there that both Bob, my Bob, and Kathleen had to get up to let her in and even then it was tough.

Now I got a message too. People want to talk to me today.

Oddly I don't think I knew anyone else at the show. I've known Julie 20 years you'd think I'd know more of her fans. We'll get back to that later.

I have seen them both a zillion times. I've driven them both to shows but this was Katherine's first time. I loved listening to them through her ears. They are both incredible songwriters and she could hear it.

They both did songs I haven't heard before, they don't rest on their laurels. I love the one that Julie wrote about Roscoe the Bed Bug Sniffing Dog. She's famous for the sentimental From a Distance but so many of her songs are funny. When they aren't she's funny. They of course did the Jeopardy theme song, they knew I was in the audience as was another Jeopardy champ. I talked to Julie after the show that I always get butterflies when I know I'm going to get a shoutout but I'd be disappointed if I didn't. Am I too honest about that kind of thing?

The format is Julie does songs with Margaret Dorn and Emily Bindeger, then her guest does a set, that Julie does a set solo. Julie finished her solo set, the lights came on, and then we heard the familiar music. Chris's baton twirling theme! She got up on stage and there were her batons under the piano. I saw them all along so I wasn't surprised. Katherine took a video. It's on Facebook not YouTube, lets see if this works.

After the show we stayed and hung out with Chris and Julie. So you know how I said after 20 years I don't know her fans. Well I also didn't know her partner Laura. I met her for the first time. We both knew of each other because Julie has talked about us but we never met. How did I know I'd like her? Oh right because Julie has great taste.

So this was a definite home game.

After the show Katherine and I went food shopping, our new tradition. We get to enjoy how our diets are totally disjoint. Pretty much the only foods we both eat are peanut butter and chocolate. I of course can live solely on peanut butter and chocolate. What of bacon you ask? I can live without it. I am tough!

As soon as we left the theater someone gave me a walk by hello. I was Jean Rohe. She couldn't stop and talk because she was on the phone. Here's the weird thing the last four friends I ran into on the street were Jean, Seth, Jean, and Seth. Yes both of them twice. How odd is that?

Then it was onto the subway and on our way home. Notice I never got dinner,. I stopped at Popeye's in Flatbush, it's a block from the train station. It's fast, it's cheap, and they are open late. The sad thing is I don't love it anymore. I still like it but it isn't treat food. Instead of therapy food I had therapy friends and music. That's even better.

Julie said that the best thing in her life is making friends with so many wonderful musicians. I know exactly what she means. You might be one of them.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 04, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!