I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 03, 2013 - 10:48 a.m.

Anthony+toys+tiny instruments = fun

Today is Allen Ginsberg's birthday so I'm listening to him read "Howl." Maybe that will inspire me.

Yesterday I was hit by a fatigue attack and fell asleep in the afternoon. I never did get enough coffee. I was too tired to get some.

I've been going through all the episodes of Dollhouse as I become a Joss Whedon completest. Again I like it but it is far from being church. I get mad at it too often. It's all Joss's paranoid conspiracy theory tin hat wearing persona. The one slowly unraveling of a mystery show that I loved was Nowhere Man which nobody else watched. That was brilliant. it didn't suppose that there were a huge number of evil people running everything. It was a conspiracy against the government not by it. And it evolved wonderfully. Dollhouse keeps telling you that things aren't what they appear. In Nowhere man you kept discovering for yourself how wrong you were about everything. It seems to be an influence on The Dollhouse. A lot has to do with manipulating people's minds.

I didn't have plans for last night till Anthony de Costa posted on his blog that he had a gig in Williamsburg. It was at a place I've never been to, Cameo. It's in Brooklyn, it shouldn't be so hard to get to � but it is. I have to go through Manhattan and the was running on the R tracks which adds 10 stops to the trip. If I still lived in Queens and had a car I'd have been there in 20 minutes.

I did some homework and found a place to eat beforehand. I have forgotten the name but it was a little dive that had excellent pulled pork and spicy fries for $11. I then got ice cream from the Williamsburg Creamery, chocolate peanut butter oreo! Yummy but not enough peanut butter in it. I looked up the name, it's Juniper.

This was Anthony's first band show since September. He blamed it on contractual obligations. That is not the real reason He did mainly songs written in the last year, There was only one that I knew I knew. I probably heard a few others but I'm me. Some were very new, they were about graduating college. Musically they are so different from what he was doing when I met him. They are hard rock. It's electric guitar with distortion. You might think I wouldn't like that but I do. I loved it. The only thing is it makes you work to hear the lyrics and the lyrics are worth listening to. The songs are not formulistic, they flow. You don't know what's coming next. So he's doing singer/songwriter personal lyrics in a rock setting. What I love is that it's not a hook that sounds great then is stretched over 5 minutes with nothing more to say. You have to listen to the entire song to get it.

During the break I got to talk to him and his girlfriend Lindsay. That's something I haven't got to do enough his senior year. I always love talking to Anthony. He is always bursting from the seams with ideas and enthusiasm.

I stayed for the next act because they are called Toys and Tiny Instruments. When I saw that name I wrote Carey and said, "When did we start a new band? How come I don't know about it?" That's a name guaranteed to get me sucked in. It was truth in advertising, they had toys and tiny instruments. ukulele, kazoo, stylophone, churango, little tambourine type thing, and this weird percussion kit that I can't identify anything on,. There was also a regular drum kit. I had to ask what the stylophone was. It is so small I didn't even see it in the dimly lit room. I thought the stool it was sitting on was the instrument. Here's a picture of one but the one they used looked a bit different,

Here's a charango, It's from the Andes.


Anthony impressed me by knowing the name. I have actually looked it up before and knew it started Ch but couldn't get it quite right. It kept coming out chicharron, Dominican pork rinds or churro, Mexican fried dough. Music and food unite in my brain.

I expected to love the band. I expected them to play funny cute songs. Only one of those expectations was met. They are not funny and cute, they rock out. Even the stylophone player in the moose antlers wasn't funny and cute, he rocked out. His feet spent most of their time in mid air. The singer got pipes. He could really sing. My feet were moving too. It felt a lot like when Moxy Fr�vous played their anthemic songs that I couldn't help bopping too, or They Might Be Giants. They lyrics were good and as you might expect weird. In a word they are brilliant. I officially put them on my list of major discoveries of 2013. Listen for yourself. You have to hear and see them live to get the full experience but this is the best I can do,

Who am I recommending them to? Most of my people and especially my friends in the music business are folkies. Obviously my Fr�head and TMBGers should go see them. They'd be a natural for Vin Scelsa but he's the one DJ on WfUV that I'm not friends with. I think they'd work in the weekday mix but they are far too obscure to get played. So I'm just telling you, My Gentle Readers, people of obvious taste and broad musical tastes to give them a listen. I'll let you know when I see them next and you can join me. I wonder if I could get them to the Budgiedome. My only concern is that they are too loud. I need my own festival or venue.

Tonight I'm off to see Julie Gold and Christine Lavin at Duplex. That's a home game.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 03, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!