I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 29, 2013 - 1:11 p.m.

Not So Secret Codes

This is nice. I have the office all to myself. Now I just have to think of what to write about. I haven't done much since my last entry.

When I got back to the Last Homely House West of the Mountains last night my intention was to go to bed early and catch up on my sleep. I just wanted a quick peanut butter snack first. Then Arwen smelled the peanut butter and she wanted a peanut butter snack. Then we talked about peanut butter. Then we talked about other things and well it was after midnight before I was in my room. I didn't get to sleep till after 1:30 and I had to be up at 7:30; So much for eight hours sleep.

I just read this article in the Times; That Daily Shower Can Be a Killer. is how people discount common small risks which add up to be bigger risks than spectacular uncommon events. It doesn't just have to do with dangers of deaths. If something has a 1% risk then if you do it 100 times you can expect it to happen. This comes up when I supervise at WFUV. When we fill out the forms there is a place to fill in the codes for the premiums, for instance Live Music 15 is MCF15. It actually makes sense M stands for member, CF for City Folk, the original name of the live music series, and 15 is well duh. I tell people to fill in the codes when they ask what the person wants. So many people won't do it. They say they'll come back to it later. And of course most often they do. Maybe the forget or get it wrong one time out of 20. They think it's 1 out of 100. But even that is not acceptable. There are thousands of people calling in. that means scores are not getting the right thank you gift. Maybe the t-shirt is the wrong size. Maybe they didn't even want the t-shirt but another CD. These are people that are going to be very unhappy. And what is gained by not writing it down immediately? Three or four seconds. Nobody really cares about three or four seconds. I had one volunteer tell me that she couldn't write down the codes when she was supposed to. I have learned to just accept that but I don't get it at all. How can someone be incapable of writing down a code that is written out very clearly and in the same place. It isn't like you have to hunt for it. It looks something like this.

,


AmountGift codesGift
$60M131WFUV New Music Sampler
$100MCF15:M131Live Music 15 and WFUV New Music Sampler
$120MCF15:M040SLive Music 15 and WFUV t-shirt (small)

Think you could figure out that if somebody gave $120 and wanted the small t-shirt what the codes would be? I bet you could give the codes for a medium, large, and extra large shirts too. They'll hand me a form with no codes and I'll say, "This person didn't want any gifts? And they say, "oh he wanted the Live CD and the sampler." They forgot to put it in but next time they still won't write it down when they ask. They figure, "that was a one time mistake. I'll never make it again." Or they forget the t-shirt size. Or they say, "I never asked the t-shirt size." I just can't get some people to internalize that they aren't perfect and forget things so they have to take steps to not make mistakes despite that. I have of course totally internalized that I make mistakes. I'm a self-described idiot.

What do you think the woman who said that she couldn't write it till afterward meant? Obviously she is capable of doing it. I think it's fear that somebody might some day say, "can you go faster?" and she'd rather get 100 people irate from not getting their proper gift but complaining to somebody else than have to hear a complaint herself. I have had virtually no complaints over the years for taking too much time and I'm a slow writer that has to often ask things twice because well I am an idiot.

I have the same issues with my students. I give them methods with lots of quality control built into them but they won't use them because it might take an extra two seconds and they "know" they won't make a mistake. Of course most of them do make mistakes.

It is actually just like looking both ways before you cross the street. You make a small time investment to save a big problem from happening.

Wow that wasn't what I planned on writing about. I was going to write about What Arwen and I were talking about but I have no idea what I was going to say about it. It is just the idea that I can get lost in conversation with a 19-year-old? Maybe; I know I was thinking about that. I always enjoy talking to young people. I think Kris was 14 or so when I started hanging out with him and his mom at Fr�vous shows. Leah was 15 when she became my pseudo-daughter. Anthony da Costa became a good friend when he was 16. I love that we now have a contingent of college students camping with us at the Budgiedome. It's part of what I love about teaching.

Hey it's early enough I can get a good lunch today. I have to remember to start bringing peanut butter sandwiches to school. But now I'll see what I can grab,


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 29, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!