I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 29, 2012 - 11:37 a.m.

I balmed at a party but at least I didn't give Brian a lei

I'm getting an even later start writing today than I did yesterday. It's almost 10 PM. On the upside I had the best night's sleep I've had in a week or two. I didn't keep getting up to go to the bathroom or because I couldn't breathe. Instead of waking up at six and never fully getting back to sleep I made it till 8:10.

I finally started to learn how to use my new phone yesterday. I set up the voicemail and started entering contacts. It has all my Google contacts built in but no good way of seeing them. Until I put in a phone number they are listed as "Unknown" even though their names there when I click on one. I have thousands of contacts, everyone I ever emailed, so I can't go through them one at a time. Still it's a start.

Last night I went to the WFUV volunteer party. That's always one of the foci of my social calendar. I took the subway and bus there and the commute wasn't bad. Despite just missing the train I made it in about an hour and ten minutes. The party is on the roof of the Library which is at the end of the campus closest to the subway. That saves significant time compared to volunteering which is at the far end. I just discovered that there is a limited bus from the subway to that end of the campus. It doesn't stop on the way. So the commute was easy.

I love the volunteer party. I get to hang out with such fun people. I also get to amortize the cost of the white linen suit I bought for Lisa's wedding.


That is exactly how I spent most of the party. Walking around and talking to people sitting. I circulate and schmooze. I know most of the people there and want to talk to most of them. The part I can't explain is why they want to talk to me.

I also dance.


I'm dancing with Sue

I've been volunteering a long time and got my gold watch (iPod Shuffle) for 20 years of service. Jim got one too because we aren't sure if he'll be able to continue to volunteer since he became a commissioner. He gets a shield and everything. Here we are accepting them.

And of course I eat.

I get lots of comparisons who I look like in that getup. Which do you like best; Mark Twain, Juan Valdez, Papillion, Tom Wolf, Truman Capote, Colonel Sanders, or Generic Cuban from the 50s.

There were several game where you could win things. I won lip balm, twice. Yes I balmed at the party.

Nobody got a picture of me with Brian. Maybe that's a good thing, no camera lens could survive that. When he came in he didn't get a lei like I did. Someone said I should give him one. No way I'm going to give a lei to Brian. Some things just sound wrong.

I wanted to win a festival chair. I have a bunch but they are all in storage. Some nice person did win one and gave it to me. I can't tell you who it is. You know it couldn't be Lori not LORi because she is far too mean.

I was one of the first ones at the party, it hadn't started yet when I arrived, and was pretty much the last to leave. That's what usually happens. I have a lot of people I want to play with there. Going home I could have taken the bus or walked back to the subway but instead I asked Brian for a ride to the station. That meant walking the opposite direction to the parking lot and the driving that extra distance back. It probably took me longer than the bus or even walking. But I gained more time talking to Brian and Sue who he drove back to Jersey.

It might seem like I spend a lot of time socializing. You read Wise Madness and there is a cascade of names of friends. That's called sample bias. I write far more about the times I'm with people. The reason I crave being with people so much is that I spend almost all my time alone. I live alone, eat alone, and sleep alone. While there are days and even weekends where I've had enough socializing and seek out solitude, usually it doesn't need to be sought, it finds me.

Today is going to be a scorcher. I had planned on doing laundry but I think I'll put that off for more clement weather. I might spend the day holed up in my bedroom where I have AC. The problem is I don't have anything else there but my laptop. I am going to play on Turntable.fm with Carey today and would far rather do that on my desktop which has my music library in it but I'll probably wilt if I do. I'll go out and do something later even if it's just hang out in the Muffin shop. There are lots of things to do tonight but I'll probably stay home since I have a long day tomorrow. First I'm going to the American Roots Festival then in the evening to see Aaron Nathansm. One thing I have to do is go shopping for supplies to bring to the festival. I need sun block and food. I know I just went shopping but I didn't buy stuff to make sandwiches with.

Look for another edition of Wise Madness tonight. I won't be able to update tomorrow so I am planning on writing one on Affordable Care Act.

I can't figure out how to end this. That hasn't happened in a while. How about, They all lived happily ever after? You can't go wrong with the classics.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 29, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!