I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 28, 2012 - 11:47 a.m.

All That Jazz

I need to get started writing at 9 AM. I get up around 8 most days. Now it's a bit after 10. My apartment is hot, that's making things tougher even though it's only 75 outside. I really need to get a good window fan.

My phone is beeping and I don't know why. I don't see any messages. My job for today is to go through the user's manual.

Last I wrote I was off to see Emily Elbert. This show was at Zuccotti Park. That's super convenient for me. I have a choice of a zillion subways and it takes 15 minutes to get there. When I arrived I saw the place was covered with fire and police vehicles. There was an accident at the World Trade Center site. A girder that was being lifted to the top started spinning and hit some windows. They had to close off the streets to protect people from falling glass. Nobody knew anything about the concert. Someone from River to River, the festival promoters, should have set up to let people know what was happening. I looked around for Emily but didn't see her. She is vertically challenged so I knew that wouldn't be easy. I just searched for a glimpse of radiant blonde hairs. I found a few but none were on her head.

That was disappointing but I figured as long as I was in the neighborhood I'd finally get around to going to Bed, Bath, & Beyond. The problem is I couldn't find it. I thought I knew where it was. I double checked and it is exactly where I thought. Why couldn�t I find it? I just looked at the street view on Google Maps and can't find it when I look there either. Anyone know what's going on? I'm talking about the store at 273 Greenwich in Tribeca.

After that failure I went to Trader Joe's in Brooklyn, my original post concert plan. That worked out much better. I bought more things and spent more money than I planned but that's because I had to stock my larder. Oddly even though it's in walking distance of my house, it takes about the same time to get there as Zuccotti park because there's a lot more walking involved. It's all of two subway stops away. My kitchen is starting to feel more like my kitchen. I forgot to mention that I bought a ceramic skillet at Marshall's the other day. It worked well for my omelet yesterday and cleaning it was a breeze.

I had planned on making the bacon potato soup yesterday but ended up not having time for it. Something clicked in my head and I was able to call Carey, New York Carey not Chicago Carey, for the first time in months. I then had to explain everything that happened to me and why I disappeared. That took a lot of time. By the time I was done I didn't have time to clean all the dishes and prepare the meal. I ended up just making hot dogs. Tonight is the WFUV volunteer party so I won't be cooking dinner. I'll try and make it tomorrow.

I did manage to pick up my white suit for the party. It's going to be a scorcher but that is the reason I bought a white linen suit, to wear in hot weather. It is my trademark at the parties and how I amortize the cost. I bought the suit for Lisa's wedding.

After dinner I went to see Tomoko Omura at Tomi on the upper east side. This was my second time seeing her solo. I know her from the bandRUNA. She did a residency there this month and I went a few weeks ago too. I wish I had been sleeping better so I could stay for both sets. Still I got an hour and a half of great jazz so I can't complain. Tomoko is a brilliant violinist in multiple genres but jazz is her specialty. She performed as a duo with pianist Glenn Zaleski. I put it that way because he does far more than accompany her. He has significant solos in each song. Their interaction is a big part of the show.

The songs I heard this time were less lyrical and more intellectual than I heard last time. That probably worked out well for me as I'm not that familiar with jazz and I'm still learning how to listen to it. What struck me last night is how the songs are like Picasso's. The melodies are there but they are broken up in pieces and you have to put them together mentally. The bits and pieces are thrown back and forth between the violin and piano. I often have to close my eyes to concentrate enough to pick up everything. I often do that listening to all sorts of music.

There's an irony involved as Tomoko is very attractive, that makes her more of a distraction, which means I pay a higher price in visual pleasure to extract the full value of the music. I find that happens with quite a few female performers. It's a negative feedback look. The more beautiful the musician the more I close my eyes.

You've all heard by now that the Court ruled in favor of the Affordable Care Act. I'm not sure when I'll get a chance to write about that but I will. Maybe a special edition of Wise Madness tomorrow. I have nothing planned to do but won't be able to write on Saturday as I'm going to the American Roots Festival in the morning then seeing Aaron Nathans in the evening.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 28, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!