I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-10-08 - 1:31 a.m.

oO My mistress left me and she won't beat me no more. Oo

I was lazy today and didn't update. I'll have to catch up on the weekend now. Carey and I actually found our way to the Kennedys show at the Ridgefield Library without getting lost. When we pulled into the parking lot the Kennedys' van was right next to my car. We unsuccessfully looked for a place to eat in town then gave up and went inside. It was a late arriving crowd and we sat in the second row on the aisle. After the place filled up we noticed Gella in the audience. The only thing it was Gella when she was nine years old. She must have traveled in time then to go to the show. Funny that she didn't mention that the first time she met. I guess she didn't remember me. I'm so hurt.

The Kennedys gave their usual great show. There did a lot of older songs including an instrumental from Pete's solo career. Life is Large has taken on a new significance because of Carey's situation.

I knew a woman she lived in our town
She had a bad situation it nearly took her down
And then one day I guess it just got old
She packed her bags and hit the road
Filled the tank and took control
Life is Large ...
The Kennedys are really good at lifting a person's spirits.

The show was longer than I expected so we just had enough time to make it to Bridgeport to see Deirdre Flint and Eric Schwartz. The show was scheduled to start at five and we got there at 4:50. They have remodeled the Acoustic Café since the last time I was there. They also changed the seating system. It is now first come first serve. It used to be reserved seats. We were able to sit right down in the table by the stage.

Deirdre did a set, then Eric did one, then they took a break. I talked to Eric and apologized for unintentionally heckling him. I spoke a bit too loud at one point. He took it well. It helped that he knows us.

They did the second half of the show as a song swap. It was pretty much non-stop laughs all evening. After the show we got to speak a bit to Deirdre. She and Eric are both up high on my cool people list.

After the show I had to stop for gas and something to eat. We stopped at the first rest stop on 95 and were shocked to see a van with a DVN sticker on it. It belonged to a musician; we saw a monitor and a keyboard in the back. We thought it was Eric. I was wearing my signed Mike Fanning t-shirt and I paraded around in it hoping whoever the DVNt was would come up to me. He or she didn't. We actually hung around trying to find Eric or whoever it was. It was good stalker training. Just as we gave up we heard a woman call out, "Hi guys." It was Deirdre. We said that we thought Eric was here too but she said it wasn't his van. She said that if she were me she would have paraded around with her DVN t-shirt and did an excellent imitation of me in the process. Great minds think alike.

When we got home it was early but we were tired. We were going to go to sleep early but we got distracted when I started pulling out old school memorabilia out. Carey got to read my grade school report cards and some papers that I wrote in intermediate and high school. I also showed her a few college notebooks complete with my nerd doodles. She was a bit taken aback by some of them. When I was bored in math class I'd do math, just not the math that the class was doing. I also did some pathetic drawing. My Mr. Spock was typical.

This morning we took the LIRR into Penn Station together and Carey took the train back home.

I should mention that over the course of the last couple of days we wrote the greatest song ever written. Too bad we can't actually sing it for anybody.

I have been so lucky to have Carey around the last few years. They haven't been good times for me. They've been punctuated by illness and death. Carey and my other friends, that means you, have kept me happy. I have great friends and Carey is the best best friend in the world.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-10-08
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!