I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 08, 2012 - 9:46 p.m.

Back to Blogging

No I'm not dead. I have a copy of Word now so writing will be a bit easier. I'm not going to fill in all the details since I last updated but I'll give you a brief summary.

Lena came to visit the weekend before last and I didn't want to make her share the tiny room I was renting. I asked on Facebook if anyone was going away for the weekend and would let us stay at his or her house. Someone said yes! So we spent Friday, Saturday, and Sunday in City Island. City Island is a fascinating place, a coastal town that would fit in eastern part of the north shore of Long Island or New England but in the Bronx. We had an amazing view. the only problem is that it takes an hour and a half to get anywhere. It's a bus then several trains.

We spent friday getting from my room in Crown Heights to City Island. We grabbed dinner once we were there and crashed. We spent Saturday shopping and eating in the East Village. We watched them fight a fire on E 9th Street.

On Sunday we volunteered at WfUV then we went to see the Thrilling Adventure Hour. Lena was excited because she got to meet Paget Brewster who said she was beautiful. She liked the eyelashes I talked Lena into buying. I have talents I don't know I have.

Yes that's Jonathan Coulton over Lena's shoulder.

Lena went home on Monday and I stayed with my friend on City Island. She thought I wouldn't be able to stay the next weekend so I scrambled for someplace to move to. I thought I found a place for a couple of weeks starting on Thursday a block from my old apartment in Fort Lee. That is exactly where I want to live. The woman subletting led me on then gave it to somebody else. I was not happy.

I asked LORi and Steve if I could spend the weekend with them and they said yes. That's always an oasis for me. I missed a bunch of concerts in NY I wanted to see but I had a roof over my head and friends; that's more important. I even got most of my grading done. I came back today so I could go to my therapist.

Now I'm back in Crown Heights but not in the same room. I am in the closet under the stairs. There is no window. It's tiny. It does have a desk and WiFi. I don't even have room for my big suitcase. Right now it's up in City Island but I'm picking it up tomorrow.

One piece of good news. I have a place for November. My friend in City Island has a friend that is moving and is subletting her old place. Where is it? a block from my old apartment in Fort Greene. It's in the same building as the woman that screwed me over. It's on the same floor as the woman that screwed me over. I'm going to go , "nyah nyah nyah nyah nyah nyah" when I see her.

I'm finding it hard to live with my usual �lan. My goal is to not get dispirited. I was going to say despondent but dispirited is better. Choosing the right word makes me less dispirited. Writing is important. I love writing. I love story telling. It's why I like therapy. It is pretty much the same as blogging but I don't have to worry about spelling or protecting other people's privacy.

I'm going to try and live as much of my normal life as possible. That means writing here and going to shows. Tomorrow is John Platt's On Your Radar. You should go too.

I have to hunt for short and long term housing. I'd love to get out of Harry Potter's room. If you know anyone looking to sublet, preferable in Brooklyn and near the subway let me know. Manhattan and Queens are fine too. Hell I'll take Jersey City near the PATH. I must know some musician going on tour that could use an apartment sitter. I'll pet sit too. Water plants. Kill off some disagreeable neighbors if you like.

Maybe Hagrid will come by and take me to Hogwarts. That would be better if I liked Harry Potter more. Anyway I can get to Discworld? I'm reading Men at Arms now, the first Watch story.

I feel better having written this. I'm going to try and write every day again.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 08, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!