I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 28, 2012 - 12:11 a.m.

Come and Get It

I didn't update yesterday. I wasted too much time and then had to go to bed early as I had to be at WFUV at 6 AM today. Yes even when I'm homeless I volunteer. It's important to my mental health.

I'm having no luck with apartments. I was supposed to see one tonight and was told today I couldn't till tomorrow. Every lead dissolves. If you know anyone in Brooklyn or Queens near a subway let me know. I'd take Manhattan if it's affordable.

My students did much better on the retest on fractions. That's encouraging. Yes I'm quizzing college students on sixth grade material. Even the calculus students have trouble with fractions so now I quiz them on it at the beginning of the semester to get them to learn them. Still there are some that have no idea what to do. They can't even start the problems. Part of the problem is that they never developed number sense. They can't immediately see that 55=5×11. Ugh, Libre Office is totally useless for writing math. It's help system is useless too. I might have to DL open office that was at least usable.

When I came into school on Wednesday I found maintenance working on the office door keypad. I had reported that it didn't work multiple times in Monday. What was wrong? The battery needed changing, something totally simple and it took them two days to fix it and that's assuming that nobody reported the problem on Friday when it started. When I called in I gave them the entry code in case they needed it. So what happened when I got in on Wednesday. They told me they needed to find out the entry code. If I hadn't come in just then it wouldn't have been fixed.

Later in the day a student walked in when the door was closed. That shouldn't happen. There is no way to unlock the door. At least there isn't supposed to be. Somebody had taped over the lock. The room is filled with valuable things and I leave my personal things there. It's my office. I should be able to securely do that. I know the lock was broken but if no one is around to let you in security can do it. I had to do that for years in my old office. You don't leave the door unlocked and make it so nobody else can lock it. I of course took off the tape. Things are back the way they are supposed to be. I was the only one that did anything to make that happen.

Today I got out of the house early and took the subway to the City where Jim picked me up and drove me to WFUV. As always that was the best medicine. I got to talk to my friends. I got to feel useful. I got to be appreciated. I did all that without having any anxiety. I was about to say that I'm very good at what I do there and I know it but that's true at school too. So it isn't what's making me happy. It is the people. I get to talk to a broad swath of smart fun people. Some are staff, some are students, some are volunteers. The ages run from teens to senior citizens. There are geeks, artists, and altruists. I can in one day talk about all sorts of music, death and dying, sports, politics, food, photography, films, and traveling through Spain. I get hugs and people comfortable enough to tease me. I even had to take a pledge. Usually I just supervise. I got CDs

Liz Carroll and John Doyle - Double Play
Itzhak Perlman - Live in the Fiddler's House
Rosanne Cash - The List
Ray Charles - Essential Classics
I also took a Billy Holiday CD but found the case empty just now when I went to rip it.

After the 12 hour shift Jim drove me to the 4 train so I had a one subway ride home. I slept most of the way and read the rest. It was a good day.

How about some thoughts by me? Not about my travails but something that I've been meaning to write for a while. I find that I'm getting less and less tolerance for people that don't get it. What is it? Whatever the topic on hand is. It often happens when I'm with Alan at a game talking sports and somebody Alan knows comes over and tries to join the discussion. We'll do things like make lists of the New York athletes that were popular incomeasurate with their talent. Players like Mookie Wilson or Harthawn Wingo who were loved despite not being stars. Then someone comes along and says, how about Tom Seaver? We'd say, "no he was the greatest Met ever. Of course he's popular. We mean the players that weren't great. Then the person would say, "Joe Namath. We'd point out that Namath was an MVP and lead the Jets to a Superbowl. He was a great player. And the person responded but he was very popular. So our discussion is highjacked by someone who didn't get what we meant and we spent all our time unsuccessfully explaining it. I really want to say, "Go away you aren't going to contribute anything to his conversation and I'm enjoying it." But of course I can't because that would be mean. So I get frustrated but act polite.

Sometimes it's happens with someone I'm trying to have a one on one conversation but the person I'm talking to just can't understand what I'm getting at. Sometimes it's because they aren't capable of understanding but sometimes it's because they have their own hobbyhorse they can't break away from so they turn the conversation to that.

It pretty much happens to online forums all the time. There is going to be someone that just get what everyone else is talking about but feels compelled to participate anyway. Yes it's minor things an no big deal but it bugs the hell out of me. It's part of why I appreciate it so much when I talk to the people that do get it like I did today.

Now I have to get some more apartment hunting done and get to bed.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 28, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!