I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-07-09 - 10:04 p.m.

Murder for Money

Not much exciting news the last few days. Yesterday I bought some new toys for Falcon Ridge. I bought a sleeping bag, a camping couch and a camping table. The couch and table are for the Budgiedome. I am getting really psyched.

Today I had another X-ray, an upper GI series. I had to drink a Barium drink and X-rays were taken as it worked its way through my stomach and small intestine. When I was a kid the drink was horrible, it isn't nearly as vile now. It is always fun watching that stuff work its way through your system. The pics looked good too, no sign of disease. They wont' be sure till they study them of course.

After that I went to have them finish up my car. Guess what they ordered the wrong relay and couldn't fix it today. You'd think they'd at least have had the courtesy to call me and tell me not to come. They don't care about my time at all.

That just about raps up what I've done since my last update. That and calls from and to Leah and Carey. Carey apologized for calling me and giving me so much attention this weekend. Next thing you'll know Santa will apologize for bringing presents to people.

Now for a rant:

I read in the paper today that the W. R. Grace Company sold what they called asbestos free insulation for years. Only one problem though, it had asbestos. Much less than most but still some. IT is debatable how dangerous it is but the prevailing view is that there is no safe level of asbestos. People could not even make informed risks with their lying. The people using it took none of the usual precautions. The company has gone under because of lawsuits but that isn't enough. If it were up to me the officers would be tried for murder. They put people at risk for money. As a practical matter it would be hard to prosecute. You can show that people probably died but you can't pinpoint which exact people. It might not make good law but morally they are murderers.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-07-09
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!