I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 14, 2013 - 1:22 p.m.

FAQ on the DSO

A great miracle happened here; I started writing this an hour and 50 minutes before class and I actually used the hour and 20 minutes before this to get some work done. I prepared for class. I still have more work to do but I can do that after school.

Yesterday I did laundry and got sucked into a time vortex. Don't look at me like that. How else do you explain how it went from 11 AM to 5 PM in about 15 minutes? Well yes it could be Chronoklepts but I tend to know where the time went when they steal it. This was just a mysterious jump in time.

That's why I ended up writing much of Yesterday's Wise Madness on the subway. I had to leave before I was finished. I went to the Drunken Smartass Olympics at Dempsey's Pub in the East Village with Larry and Diana. I haven't been three in ages and as I say every time I go, I need to go more often. If nothing else it's my main time to socialize with Larry and Diana. I also get to eat bangers & mash. There is pretty much no downside to this. It is so much fun. Tony the host is great. I file him in the same part of my brain as I do Jim Caruso the host of Cast party. They are funny emcees that run a tight ship. The main difference is that I give Tony a hard time. I never heckle Jim. Let's see how you do on what is known as the Kilimanjaro question. That's the tiebreaker. Tony asks a numerical question nobody will now the exact answer to like "how high is Mt, Kilimanjaro." Funny thing is I know the exact height of Mt. Everest, at least it's published value. No I don't! I double checked and they changed the official height. It used to be 29,002 ft and that's what I grew up knowing, Now it is 29,029 ft. In case you are wondering I'll save you the trouble of looking it up Kilimanjaro's height is 19,341 ft. Last night's question was "Yoko Ono has the record for following the most people on Twitter. How many people does she follow? I'll give the answer later. No cheating! That is the only rule of the DSO, you can't look up the answers. I'm giving the answer that is on twitter.com right now. It agrees to what Tony claimed last night to as many digits as I remember. And that's the idea. Just get a ballpark figure.

I won't keep you in suspense, we came in tied for second but lost the tiebreaker, the Kilimanjaro question, so came in third. That cost us $5. We got $10 off our tab. Want to join us next time? If you are good at recognizing songs that would be ideal. Carey want to come to New York and be our ringer? One round is a segment of a song is played and you have to guess the performer. If you are good at Song Pop you'll be good at it.

Oh remember how I said I lost my notebook? I didn't. It was in the wrong pocket of my backpack. I did lose my water bottle. I want to get a new one today.

I'm looking at my notebook now, Here are some questions from last night. What I actually jotted down were the answers. I'll give them at the end too. . I sat on the opposite side of the table from Diana who wrote down our answers and if I spoke loud enough for her to hear me the people at the next table might have heard.

  1. Who was the last Pope before Benedict to not be named John, Paul, or John Paul. You don't need to know the number but I'll give you extra credit if you do.
  2. What was Johnny Paycheck's only crossover hit? It fit the topic, "quitters."
  3. What was the name of the Queen of Belgium that abdicated last month?
  4. What's the name of the prominent Greek American that had to resign after being convicted of tax evasion in 1973?
  5. Kevin Rudd, the Prime Minister of What country? Apologized for his country's treatment of its aboriginal people in 2008.

  6. What Jewish Comedian directed the 2005 film "Looking for Comedy in the Muslim World?" bit hint on this one. The topic was bodies of water so the name has something to do with water.

Here are the answers, first Kilimanjaro question. Yoko follows 947, 994 people on twitter.

Now for the others.

  1. Pius XII
  2. "Take This Job and Shove It"
  3. Beatrix
  4. Spiro T. Agnew
  5. Australia
  6. Albert Brooks.

Now I'm going to go and get even more school work done, my final attendance. Well actually I'll just start on that. I'll eat a relaxed lunch for a change.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 14, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!