I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-05-29 - 12:35 a.m.

Batnose Brigade II

First off I want to explain that I did not write the previous entry. Wise Madness was commandeered by a rotten kid who tortured me to get my password. I won't mention her name because I don't want to embarrass Leah.

Now if you have been paying attention you know that the lovely Shelly and myself spent the weekend at the fabulous Carey estate in beautiful Baltimore. I left at 1 on Friday, which would under normal circumstances meant arriving at 5. I wanted to arrive at 6. The traffic was so bad I didn't get there to 7.

Once I arrived we commenced with the traditional dispensing of gifts and food. I had my first kinderegg and got a talking Powerpuff girl. Yes you heard me a Powerpuff girl, if you have a problem with that Buttercup will whip your ass.

After talking endlessly we finally went out for pizza. I wasn't feeling that great by then though. We got back to apartment and talked for hours. I have no idea what time I finally got to sleep but it most have been after 3.

The next morning I woke up sick. It felt just like a typical Crohn's attack. I am calling the doctor tomorrow to see what he thinks. I was hoping I'd be asymptomatic after the operation. I tried to go out to breakfast with Carey and Shelly but I had to give up and ask them to take me home. They ended up making delicious waffles so it was no great loss. Shelly is the Waffle Goddess. I was even able to eat one.

I then spent the rest of the day lying down till we were ready to head out to the EFO show, the focal point of the weekend. I've been an EFO fan for years; they did the first required listening show at the Bottom Line. Carey and Shelly are bigger fans though and seem to think that Mike Clem is the cutest man on earth. We didn't have tickets so we needed to get there early. We were told the standby line started at 5. When we got there we found it was 6. We amused ourselves in the meantime by going to coffeehouse with balloons in the window. Carey and Shell had dinner, I settled for a hot chocolate, as I didn't think I could eat.

We finally got into the show though we didn't get a table. We sat on chairs in the back. My chair was against a wall and I couldn't see the whole stage. I didn't really mind though. I knew I'd have trouble keeping awake the show and I wanted a wall to lean against. I did sleep during about half the show if not more. It is not fun being sick. I felt bad after the show because I didn't feel up to waiting around to talk to the band. Carey and Shelly really wanted pics with them.

I was a bit better on the ride home and was able to both navigate and tell the amazing story of Benny. If you are good I might tell the Benny story in my diary one day.

When we got back we actually went right to sleep, hardly any talking even. We were supposed to leave on Sunday but I was far too sick. The most I was able to eat all day was a couple of bagels. Carey and Shelly really were great. They alternated picking on me with serving my every need. They really were amazing. I was pretty difficult and they stood right by me. Say what you want about us but Batnoses believe in Semper Fi.

That night we watched two movies that Shelly had rented, Best in Show and Waiting for Guffman. They were both directed by Christopher Guest of Spinal Tap fame. I was actually able to stay awake during Best in Show even though Guffman was probably better.

This morning I was still stick so I waited around till I felt a bit better till I left. I finally did in the afternoon. A little after I hit the road I seemed to have gotten better. I was even able to have dinner. I was amazed that I hit so little traffic on the ride home. After I got home I answered some calls, watched some TV then went online. We are now up to the present.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-05-29
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!