I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 13, 2014 - 10:24 a.m.

A Day in the Life

I have to be at school at noon so I better start writing. I did beat my 9:00 deadline by three minutes.

Test on how well you know me. What do I do every Monday? Yes I had therapy. Sometimes I think the most useful thing about therapy is giving that piece of structure in my life. Of course it isn't a great thing to blog about. The point of therapy is that I can talk about things there that I can't talk about here. I can say this was not a productive session. I don't think she gets what's going on and that's funny as part of what's going on is my unhappiness about people not getting what's going on. At least the meta amuses me.

As I've been watching Brother Cadfael Mysteries I've thought of an idea for a detective whose defining traits are an exaggeration of one of my traits, finding humor in everything. He'd be kind and compassionate like Cadfael but as soon as he's away from the victims and loved ones of victims he starts pointing out what's so funny about the murder. When a stripper is strangled by a guitar player he says "Sort of appropriate that she was killed with a g-string." Except he'll be funny. That was off the top of my head.

So something that isn't funny that I found funny last week. I was waiting at the Second Avenue station after a show at Rockwood. A young man and woman came in arguing. It sounded like it was just over what route to take home. I didn't pay any attention till she raised her voce and said, "You just had your fucking penis in me and now you are going to leave me alone?" A little while later she stormed out of the station. She was so distraught that I almost said something to her. But I was already thinking how she used "fucking" as a meaningless interjection but it was in fact literally true. That was interesting enough to get me to use profanity here. You know I don't like doing that. I only use profanity while quoting.

After therapy I had my glasses repaired at a nearby glasses store. Whew I am back to being a cool hipster with my black plastic glasses. They never charge anything but I always ask This time he took $2. That seems so odd.

Then I saw a bagel store that sells bagels for 45� on Mondays! I have a new Monday tradition. I bought a dozen. I ate one and froze the rest. I'll be having bagels most days now. See I'm a good Jew. As I forgot to bring shopping bags that pretty much talked me out of going shopping. I didn't buy apple cider or potatoes like I usually do at the Union Square Farmer's Market.

I decided I needed a therapy meal so I walked up to Hog Pit NYC. On the way there I stopped at a light and somebody said, "I like WFUV," I was wearing the City Folk t-shirt and WFUV cap. I looked up and saw it was Mark, he used to volunteer at the station. I caught up with him. It's always nice to run into people like that.

I had chicken fried steak for dinner. That's what I get at Hog Pit NYC, not hog. I should have gotten chocolate somewhere. That's the best therapy food.

I finished grading the Finite Math test and some make up for the second test that people took. I still have to write the precalculus final and grade their test and I'm giving the Finite Math final today so I have to grade that. And tonight is John Platt's On Your Radar. I can't miss that. The Lords of Liechtenstein and Connor Garvey are playing. The third act is the Grahams who I only know from being guests on John's show on Sunday. Is it cool enough that can wear my official Lords of Liechtenstein argyle sweater vest? I think I might have to.

I actually had more to write today but I have to leave soon for school. I better make breakfast


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 13, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!