I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 12, 2014 - 9:58 a.m.

Some Mondays are More Monday than Others

OK I'm starting to write at 8:54. That's a good start to the day. Yesterday was not a good mental health day. I got nothing accomplished and finals are this week. I have to make up a final and I have to grade two take-home tests. I have therapy today and I have to shop too. I didn't shop yesterday as the subway wasn't running.

I did force myself to go out and take a walk in the early evening when it was still hot and sunny. It was my first time wearing shorts this year. I was glad I could find them. I walked to Kingston Ave and got a milk shake. I was overpriced and not particularly good.

I forgot to tell you that I broke my glasses Friday night. It as actually Saturday so the subway stopped running at Franklin Ave. That means everybody gets off to get on the shuttle bus. It was very crowded and the person in front of me did something that knocked my glasses off. I was able to catch them before they hit the ground but one arm fell off. It should be repairable. I could do it myself if I had a proper screwdriver. Good thing I have my progressives as a backup

I bought these the other day:


the store calls them "blogo bananas." I couldn't find anything about them online. I asked the guy at the store how to eat them? They aren't ripe yet but when they are I can eat them raw or fry them. What we think of as a banana is just one type, the Cavendish. They are n fact all clones of each other. There are a huge number of bananas of all shapes and sizes. If I see one on sale I'm gong to buy it and try it.

For dinner tonight I was true to my Caribbean neighborhood. I had jerk chicken and fried plantain. I very rarely fry anything but eggs but I was out of pans to roast them in. I use the aluminum ones as the cooking sheet we have here is encrusted with food and I can't clean it properly. It was nice for a change. I didn't deep fry the plantain, I fried it in Ghee. That came out excellent. It helped that I bought the plantain almost a week ago and it was almost black. I like my plantains sweet.

On Monday I'm going to try and keep you up to date on my fantasy baseball team the Nashional Batnoses.


As you can see we are in second place. Yesterday we were in first place but we had a terrible day. But our best player, Chris Davis is back so things are looking up.

I had a nice talk via FB with Brianne last night. She's a good one to talk to when I'm having a bad mental health day. She doesn't pretend that everything will turn out fine but she helps me see that they might. More importantly she gets that what's bothering me is important to me. She doesn't dismiss it. There's nothing that makes me feel more alienated than someone that actually knows what's going on and just can't appreciate how it is affecting me. Or is that effecting me? Not being sure about that is affecting me

I watched another Brother Cadfael mystery last night. Anyone else watch that? It's Derek Jacobi as a 12th century monk that solves crimes. They were brilliant. Brilliant has become my favorite compliment. I use it for works of art and for people. It's what I want it both art and people. I want my mind to race. I want to be inspired.

It looks like I'm not inspired this morning. I find that I can't write about what's on my mind at the moment and that's driving all else out So I'll just keep this very short. Now for breakfast. I think it's a day for poached eggs.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 12, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!