I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 07, 2018 - 11:25 a.m.

Comment If You Want to Continue Seeing My Posts

I didn't post to Wise Madness yesterday. Notice, I didn't say that I didn't write; I did but what I wrote did not come up to snuff. I decided it's better to miss a day than write a bad entry. If I keep applying that standard I might never post again. At least I did something yesterday, that makes writing easier.

In the afternoon I took Bernie to physical therapy. It's not that far away but he has trouble walking, thus the need for therapy. I used my mad public transit and time management skilz to get him there on time. We got to the bus stop about 3 minutes before the bus arrived. When we got off the bus we found Jane. She had an appointment in the morning and got back just in time to meet us. That meant I didn't have to stay at the PT. I used the time to do the important task of finishing watching Supergirl.

Then I headed into the City; my main purpose was going to the Knick game. I also needed to go to the bank. I never write paper checks. I even have a check book. That never stopped being true and I had to write one. I didn't know what to do but figured the TD bank would. Do you know? Even if you have a checkbook you might need this information; perhaps you forgot your checkbook and need to write one. It was very simple. I went to the window and they printed out a counter check. That sounds like it should mean something else, like a cross check. It just means a check you get at the counter. They print it up with all your account information on it. For some reason I still had to write out my account number even though it's printed with the rest of the numbers at the bottom of the check.

Then I did something else I never do, I went out for a nice dinner by myself. I went to Hog Pit USA for their delicious chicken-fried steak sandwich. The very name chicken-fried steak is weird. There is no chicken involved. They put mashed potatoes on the sandwich along with white gravy. It's then served with redundant curly fries. The one issue I've had at Hog Pit but not yesterday, the waitress was delightful and the bus boy efficient. I had great service. I bet they got a new manager since he last time I was there.

I made both the waitress and the bank teller smile. That's always makes me feel good. It's part of my self-image. I think of myself as delightful. Why did a few of me just say, "He is confusing delightful with creepy?"

I got to the Knick game early, I wanted to. I hate the crush getting through security. There were still lines, but it was more relaxed than when I get there later.

In the second quarter, the Knicks best player, Kristaps Porzingis, made a nice dunk. He came down on somebody's foot. Porzingis crumpled to the floor. He twisted his knee. It looked bad though he didn't have to be carried off he was helped, he couldn't walk without support. There were no announcements of what happened. I kept checking my phone and saw he was going for an MRI. That’s just a precaution. I read he was able to put weight on it. I thought that meant it wasn't what I had feared, a torn anterior cruciate ligament aka ACL. On the way home, the MRI report came in, it was a torn ACL. That means he'll be out a year. He's been the one bright spot for the Knicks, now he might never be the same. I'm crushed. The Knicks were crushed too. The Bucks won 103-89. Good thing I always enjoy hanging out with Alan. He said he'll have lots of Met games for me this season. He has season tickets in all four major sports.

By now you've all seen some variant of the viral post that Facebook is or has changed its algorithm and will only show you the posts of 25 friends, those you interact the most with, so you should comment on the post. I was disappointed to see so many of my friends post it. These are always fake. Haven't we all learned from now to not believe anything that isn't sourced? One variant had a false sourcing saying that the poster had checked it on Snopes. There was no link to Snopes of course. Snopes posted no such thing. They eventually responded and pronounced the rumor false.

This was so easy to disprove. I went and scrolled through my feed and 40 different people on it. I saw posts from people I hadn't seen posts by in ages. That made sense as Facebook announced that the point of changing the algorithm was to see more posts from friends. I commented that people should do that and see that the rumor was a lie. Fake news has been in the real news for over a year, yet people still fall for it. It has corrupted our democracy. It isn't that difficult to check facts. When you post things, you should make it easier on others by linking to the source.

I'm not going out today, so I should take notes of any interesting thoughts I have so I'll have something to post tomorrow. I don't want to skip another day.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 07, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!