I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 25, 2016 - 12:29 p.m.

Ramble On

Happy Chanukah. It's some other holiday too, right? Oh year, Whee Festivus. There's one more. It will come to me. I saw a movie about it last night a A something Story. I got it. Merry Christmas!

I know that I'm supposed to be all warm and fuzzy today. I am often warm and fuzzy. There's nothing wrong with warm and fuzzy. I'm just feeling more silly than warm and fuzzy today and this blog is supposed to reflect my inner state, not society's expectations.

I stayed in for Christmas Eve. I helped Jane and Bernie carry down the Christmas tree. It's artificial and lives upstairs with me. It's a great roommate, I didn't even know it was there till yesterday. It did not give me chocolate so it isn't a perfect roommate.

Bernie and Jane have company for the holiday, there are two other people here now. I'm listening closely downstairs for an opening where I can use the kitchen and make breakfast. If I run away while writing that's why.

I watched the Arrow on Netflix and saw the second season Christmas episode. That was by pure chance. Is that a Christmas miracle? No, I watched a bunch of episodes and that happened to be one of them. Every coincidence is not a miracle. The miracle would be if they never happened.

Today I'm going to the Cornelia Street Café to see Santa-Klez, a Jewish Klezmer holiday show with Metropolitan Klezmer. Maybe this will be added to my holiday traditions. When that's over I'm going to go over to Rockefeller Center and look at the people looking at the tree. That is also a tradition. I'm a hardened atheist with a warm creamy center.

There's an atheist blog I read, "The Friendly Atheist." I'm not going to even link to it. He sometimes covers things of interest so I follow it but too much of it is entries about religious people behaving badly. Others attack religion in ridiculous ways. Today's entry is called "Christmas is all about lying." Does he think writing like that helps the atheist cause? Terry Pratchett said something similar in Hogfather but makes that out to be a good thing. It is warm and fuzzy. Terry Pratchett was my kind of atheist.

Someone on Facebook said she was having trouble celebrating the holiday because the election has her so down. When things are bad is when you need to celebrate the most. It's why so many cultures have a holiday near the winter solstice when they nights are longest and the weather is bad. We need something to live our spirits. Don't resist the lift. Be as happy as Ralph getting his Official Red Ryder BB Gun with a Compass in the Stock and a Thing That Tells Time. Which reminds me that once again I didn't get mine. I'll concentrate on what I have not what I don't. I woke up this morning to find that Santa left me a stocking filled with candy. I didn't even hear him come up and I sleep right near the trap door to the roof. We don't have a chimney so I figured that's where he'd come in.

If you want a brilliant warm and fuzzy entry today read Brianne's, A Series of Thank You's. One is to me and some others are to people that appear on these pages often.

I'm starved. I'm going to eat. The toaster oven broke last night; it broke with a literal bang. No one even knew it was on and it caught fire and the glass shattered. That means if I want to toast an English muffin as I planned I have to do it in the oven. I'll see how things look down there.

Happy Holidays everyone. Winter is here but it will be followed by spring. Today make merry in whatever way works for you.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 25, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!