I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 22, 2012 - 12:51 p.m.

I Could Write a Book

I realized part of the reason I was cranky yesterday was health related. I've been on prednisone since January. Every time I try to go off it I have an Crohn's disease attack. This isn't going where you think. The prednisone isn't making me cranky; it spoiled me. When I'm on it I rarely get bad diarrhea. Out of the blue I had a bad night, Sunday night. Running to the bathroom like that drains me of energy, exactly what I was complaining about. Last night I had a good night's sleep. So all those things that bother me, still bother me. I don't just not suffer fools gladly, I'm not that happy with mediocrity either. But most days it doesn't get to me. It's one of those things you can't change that you have to accept. Its more than that. It's finding things to enjoy in people. They are there. You just have to find it.

Something else odd enough for me to make a point of. The people that I can play intellectual pinball with, bouncing ideas around at a fast pace, the people that force me to high levels of mental activity are the people that don't take a lot of energy to deal with. They supply their own.

I now have 1034 Facebook friends. I went to cull the flock and ended up adding more people than I unfriended. It would be nice if I could order the friends by how much I interact with them then I can concentrate on those I interact with the least.

Last night I went to the Met game. Getting there proved a problem. There was mechanical problems on a 7 train and I ended up waiting forever at Times Square for a train. I ended up being late and not getting their till the second inning.

I have to start getting their before Alan. He chooses to sit in obstructed view seats. I know that's odd but that's Alan. It's more important for him to sit on an aisle. All the aisle seats are obstructed in the lower rows of the upper deck. The entire first base line was behind plexiglass and a metal railing blocked most of it. I had to move my head to see any play at first base.

As for the games, guess what, the Mets lost. The Mets are now 57 and 66 on pace for 75 victories. I predicted 74. I now think they'll win less than that. They had a great first half but were clearly playing way over their heads. Their batters had ridiculous batting averages on balls hit in play and their winning percentage was far higher than it should have been based on how many runs they scored and gave up. They had a great record in one run games. These are all strong indicators of a team getting ready for a fall. I felt that way all season then started thinking that maybe they really were better than I thought. That's when their collapsed started.

It's very sad that the two teams I root for the hardest, the Mets and Knicks have two of the worst owners in sports. It's why both teams have such a record of failure. Neither will hire top notch professionals to run the team and give them the autonomy they need for extended periods of time.

I'm almost finished with Who Got Einstein's Office. I'm on the penultimate chapter. You'll like the title, Life, the Universe, and Everything,. When I'm done I'm going to have to find another book to read. I think I'll go down to the main branch of the Brooklyn Library and browse.

In response to my entry, Return of the Living Dead ... and Marti Milt said; "When are you going to take your reminiscences and edit and compile them into a book on NYC?" Writing a book is one of my dearest dreams. I have several book ideas, some fiction, some non-fiction but the one that I have the best chance of actually writing is on the music community; that includes most of you, My Gentle Readers. I was planning it out a bit yesterday I'd have a disclaimer something like "The names have not been changed to protect the innocent as I'm pretty sure they'd like seeing their names in print. The guilty on the other hand � "

But of course most of the book will be about the wonderful people that I write about here. It really is an amazing collection of people. That gives me an idea for one of my little projects. See how many people I have actually mentioned in Wise Madness in a one year period, let's say from Falcon Ridge to Falcon Ridge. That's how I plan on organizing the book. Essentially a journal that starts right after FRFF and climaxes with the next year's festival.

Why haven't I written the book? One word, discipline. I haven't been able to get myself to write it. Maybe it would help if I used Wise Madness as my notes and not write about a year starting now but a year that happened already. I'll consider it.

Now it's another beautiful day so I'll have to find something to do outside. Now I'm hungry and have to make breakfast.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 22, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!