I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 18, 2013 - 12:00 p.m.

Beautiful Wreck of the Horvendile

I�m pretty much a wreck but that won�t stop me from writing. See how much I love My Gentle Readers? The wfuv pledge drive started yesterday. That meant that despite not getting home till 1 am and not getting to sleep till about 2:30 I still got up around 4 AM. I knew it would be a painful day. Amazingly I didn't need my alarm to wake up. I went by subway the whole way and should have been early. Instead I was 23 minutes late. The problem is that I have to take two trains and the transfer took forever. Jim always comes in late on Wednesday so that could be a problem but it wasn't. Sam was there and supervised and I don�t think we got in any call that early anyway. Unfortunately that�s how the day went. We did not get a lot of phone calls. I got to meet the new kid on the block, Carmel Holt. She�s now the mid-morning host. Claudia left the station, Corny moved into her morning drive time slot, Darren into Corny�s evening slot, and Carmel took Darren�s spot. I love that someone said, �It wasn�t a major shakeup just a minor tweak.� Every weekday show but one changed hosts. Some people just like to be contrary.

It was a tough day on my physically. Not only was a tired but everything hurt. Getting off prednisone exposed a host of ailments, my knees, angles are sore and my right elbow and shoulder h have tendonitis. Oh and I got headache. Tylenol helped.

Bob made m&m cookies and Mike death by chocolate cookies so it was all worth while. Those guys can bake! Come dinner time there was tiramisu. So there was good conversation, desserts including chocolate, cute girls, and my usual being appreciated and useful. That�s worth a little crushing pain.

What else? I gave John Platt a couple of CDs, one from Raina Rose that he would have gotten anyway, I just saved Raina the trouble and postage, and one by The Lords of Liechtenstein. This way he doesn�t have to wait to NERFA to discover them.

I got to sleep by 11:30 last night and got over seven and a half hours sleep. My plan for tonight is to go to sleep as early as possible as I�m getting up at 4 AM again.

I stopped on the way home and bought a strap for tennis elbow. It seemed to feel better when I was using my computer last night but today I think it�s worse. I�m not using now., Maybe I should have brought it to school. Using the lap top seems to be the cause of the problem so my plan was to just use it when on that computer.

I�m tired and still in pain so I�m going to take cut this short and take a nap.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 18, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!