I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 06, 2015 - 1:16 p.m.

Wingding

Wow I'm getting a really late start, it's almost noon. Most days I'm not finished by now but I get upset that I'm not. I have a good excuse today. I had a bad night's sleep, the mosquitos and pain from my leg kept me up. I was up at 6:30 and finally fell into a deep sleep till 10:30.

So now the foot pain is what's holding me back. I don't know where it came from. It runs down the outside of the arch of my left foot. I tried icing it and guess what, it didn't ease the pain it totally relieved it. I didn't expect that. I don't think it's permanently better but perhaps it is. I stayed off it almost all day yesterday to let it heal. I had to get up to cook dinner because Brianne was selfish and wouldn't drive in from New Jersey to make it for me.

First I got up to go to the supermarket to get eggs, yes they are 25% more at C-Town than Trader Joe's, but C-Town is block away and I have to walk something like 7 blocks and take the subway to get to Trader Joe's. And it might be just 20% more. As I was walking back home I realized it's been a while since I talked to Brianne and I should call her when I get home. I get to my front gate and my phone rang, it was Brianne! How is that for synchronicity? She was feeling exactly the same thing. I told her I'd call her when I got back to my room and I did. This was very good for my mental health. When I don't go out I don't talk to anyone, literally anyone. Of course she was actually the second person I talked to yesterday, Richard called me in the morning. Nobody ever calls me other than Brianne so that was nice.

Tomorrow is Gordonpalooza. I hope people show up. You know the problem with having most of your friends be musicians? They work on Saturday night when that's when your palooza is. Writing that reminded me that I had some unfinished palooza business and I actually did it. Yes I stopped on the way and did other things, so many I forgot what I was doing.

I'm listening to Folk Alley this morning and a little while ago they played Nobody's Flying This Plane by We're About 9. I love that there's a station where I can hear my friends on the radio. Part of it is that it lets me know I'm not alone, there are enough people out there that love this music to make it worthwhile to have the station.

What I do for dinner yesterday? Right I made a burger. I can now make them absolutely perfect every single time. There's no guesswork, I cook it in the cast iron skillet for exactly 6 minutes, three minutes a side at medium heat. I get a strange pleasure out of maintaining the cast iron skillet. If you look at my other kitchen gear I'm terrible about keeping the pristine but there's a ritual around the skillet. I put it on the burner and let it heat up 8 to 10 minutes. Then after it's warm I spray it with cooking oil spray. When I finish cooking I let it cool down. Then I wipe it with a paper towel. Then it goes in the sink and I scrub it with a stiff brush and plastic scouring pad. Then it goes back on the stove where I heat it till all the water is boiled off. Then I spray it with cooking oil spray and put it away. I don't know why this gives me pleasure but it does.

Wow almost everything in my diary idea list is pretty heavy and political. Should I use one of them? Nope, today I will perform a public service. When I make chicken wings I never know what to call the parts. I think of them in terms of their analogues in the human arm. The piece that looks like a little drumstick is the homolog of the upper arm, the bone is the humerus. The next piece corresponds to the forearm so the bones are the radius and ulna. The last part that doesn’t have much meat on it corresponds to the wrist and hand but I just call it the tip. But what do other people call them? I didn’t know. One wing place called the humerus the drumette, which makes sense but is that generally accepted? Spell check doesn't accept it. So just now I google "parts of chicken wing" and found this picture. . So it looks like I actually knew the names of two of the pieces. But do people use them? I have never heard anyone use them in person. And apparently I'm not the only one that questions all this, One order of stems and flappers, hot: What do you call those chicken wing parts, anyway?.

I've been making wings more often recently and I discovered something. Sometimes the tips can get so cooked that the bone crumbles and you can eat the whole thing, there are not even pieces of bone left. When it gets that way it's quite good, at least covered in Buffalo sauce.

Now to make breakfast, sausageeggandcheese day. And tomorrow is this, make your reservations.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 06, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!