I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 17, 2017 - 11:13 a.m.

All I Make Is Radio Gaga

A first for this year, I had to open the window to cool things off and I'm wearing shorts. Let's see if I write better when you can see my legs. I'm hoping some women out there are thinking, "but that's such a distraction; I can't help thinking about your legs." I also hope that chocolate will magically appear whenever I want it. I don't put a lot of stock in hope.

Yesterday I took that ride
Across the river to the Jersey side
Played music on the radio
FDU on the HD sides
Yes once again Brian invited me to WFDU to record a show that will be played at a later date. I'll give you plenty of notice when. The name of the show is Wise Madness and I'm asking the station manager if I can make it a weekly show. The show will concentrate on new music. I will need plenty of material to feed the beast. There will also be a segment on music I heard live. You'll be able to stalk me if I get the show. I asked Brian; they won't send a limo for me. I better get the groupies I'm asking for.

I take the bus from the George Washington Bridge Bus Station. The renovations were started under Peter Stuyvesant. Yesterday they were finished and the new station opened. I was there for opening day! I was disappointed that the entrance from the subway still wasn't open. Hey, they've been working on it for only 400 years; give them time. It looks nice. It's light, spacious, and airy. The retail section isn't open yet. Like I said, give them time. There's no Wi-Fi. But it's still so much better than the make shift dingy parking garage look it had two weeks ago that I loved it. There's even a big bus arrival time board and well-marked gates.

I could walk to the station but Brian always picks me up and we go to eat first. We went to Boston Market. Try the Parmesan Tuscan Chicken while it's available. I should have dedicated the entire show to talking about it. I didn't even mention it. I have to learn to treat My Gentle Listeners as well as My Gentle Readers.

There were some technical glitches leading into the show but the show itself ran smoothly. I need to work on breaking the show into segments. By design most of the music will be new to My Gentle Listeners. I'd like to talk about each artist but that can lead to too much talk. This time I did most of the show as sets of three songs, preannouncing the first and post announcing the last two. I did a few four song sets. I'll work my way up to doing longer sets.

When the music is playing and I'm talking to Brian there are times that I just have to say, "That song is so good!" It's music I know and love it still hits me every time. I'm listening to Orly Bendavid as I write this and the song I played, Oh God just came on an I said to myself, "That song is so good!" Thanks Orly, you remined me that I wanted to write about that. I want to do as a DJ what I want to do as a teacher, convey my enthusiasm for the subject. My Gentle Readers know that and my friends know that even more There are things I love so much that I'll burst if I don't let it out. I was going to say that I want the entire world to share my love but I know that my tastes aren't for everyone. I just want all the cool people to share what I love. All the cool people and Brian. I'm not saying that Brian isn't cool, perhaps he isn't a people. I'll leave that judgement up to you. I report you decide.

After the show, Brian drove me to the Jersey side of the GW bridge where there are shuttle buses that take you across it. The problem was the turn off to the bus drop off was closed and he had to cross the bridge. Once we did that I asked if he could drive me to the bus stop so I wouldn't have to take the subway up there. I told him to go up
Broadway but he asked if he could go up Fort Washington. I didn't know why not, we do now. You can't cross west from there. We ended up in Fort Tryon Park and had to take a route that looks like a pretzel to get to Broadway. It was scenic. That cost me half an hour getting home as I just missed the bus the second bus I take, the one to City Island and they come every half hour. It's worth it. I love doing radio and don't tell him but I love hanging out with Brian.

I don't seem to have anything on my agenda till Friday. I'll have to find things to write about. There will be at least one blog on music. Now for some a sausageeggandcheese on an English muffin. Remind me that I have to do a set of songs on foods that I love. I have ones for chocolate, bacon, and coffee off the top of my head. I have two by Christine Lavin. This is going to be fun.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 17, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!