I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 04, 2014 - 11:00 a.m.

WAilyAMY

Last night was a home game of home games, We're About 9 and ilyAIMY at First Acoustics.

It shouldn't be hard to get to a home game but it was. Normally that's one train and a short walk but for the next month no trains are running at my station on the weekends. That meant taking a shuttle bus to Franklin Avenue. A lot more people can fit on a train than a shuttle bus. The bus was packed and everyone couldn't get on it. I was lucky I did.

Guess who did merch at the show? Yes you guessed right. So I got there early during sound check to hang out. I've known Brian, Katie, and almost exactly 12 years. We met Mother's Day weekend at the late lamented Susquehanna Music and Arts Festival. They have played the Budgiedome more than anyone. I met Rob, Heather, and Kristen more recently but we bonded very quickly. Brian is one of the three people that recommended them to me.

I thought I'd know the majority of the people at the show as I'm close to both bands and he venue. I think I actually knew a bit less than half. ilyAIMY had people there that I didn't know. Still there was the On Your Radar crowd, John, Richard & Viki, and Rona and Bob. There was the Chris, Seth, Gene & Isabel and the people that go to their house concerts. I'll mention Zev just because I blanked on his name. I hate doing that. I also blanked on Malcolm's name. He's Coco's daughter's Vanessa's boyfriend. I guess I should point out that Coco and Bruce organize First Acoustics. And First Acoustics people form the third group I know.


Coco introducing the show

I sat in the back with the merch which meant that I watched the shows with the band that wasn't on. ilyAIMY was up first. I could hear fine from my seat but I couldn't see Kristen.

So I stood in the center.


Brian joined them on a song.

I call the combined group WAilyAIMY.

I stood in the back center for most of WA9's set.


Another configuration of WAilyAIMY

I stood with Heather during WA9's set at got to experience one of my favorite things. Hearing a singer in the audience sing along with the performers onstage. I always find that special.

These are two of my favorite bands, they are favorites of each other, and they are about as difference as two bands can be. I like them with totally different parts of my brain. This was what I was thinking about all show. ilyAIMY is rough and raw. They overwhelm you with primal energy. They are not folk, they are rock even if their lyrics owe a lot to folk. I would know I loved them even if I saw them without sound. They attack their instruments. . We're About 9 is smooth and in harmony with the universe. I could see choir of monks covering many of their songs. In fact I'd love to hear that. I like them with the Bach part of my brain, ilyAIMY is Wagner.

I have always have visual images for music. ilyAIMY is jagged with sharp edges, We're About Nine is smooth and flows. What they have in common is that there are few bands that generate such strong images in my head. They both get my heart and mind racing. There's never a question on why you should go see either band. They are not to everyone's taste but nobody would every call them generic. They have what is for me the most important element in music, genius. If a band has great musicianship and well crafted songs and beautiful voices and harmonies they will still bore me without that. If they have genius, well it makes up for a host of sins. And these bands have the musicianship, voices, and craft too.

I was a bit worried about getting home but Gene and Isabel gave me a ride. It's good to have friends.

Wow this is far shorter than most of my entries and I don't know why. But I'm not going to add on to just add on. I'll just add the most important thing. As you might have noticed I haven't been very happy lately. Last night I was.

Now for breakfast. I'm not sure what direction I'm going there, perhaps pancakes.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 04, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!