I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 20, 2014 - 12:07 p.m.

We're About the Number of Lives a Kat Has

I edited photos and posted a video so it must be time to start writing. I have a lump of anxiety rising in me. I hope that writing holds it in abeyance. Wow I spelled abeyance right the first time. Give me a cookie. No I mean it. I want a cookie.

Yesterday I once again went to see We're About 9; this time at Gene & Isabel's house. I planned things pretty well. I didn't find myself racing out of the house. I left just when I wanted to and caught the just when Google Maps said it would arrive and got to Atlantic Terminal about 10 minutes before the train left. The track was posted moments after I had bought my ticket. I too often find myself cutting things really close catching trains. This was perfect timing. I got on the right car so that when I got to Merrick I was at the stairway I wanted. Yes I'm bragging about my commuting skilz. It's pretty sad.

I got there early as I had to make my Choco-Lavinator and that takes a bit more than an hour. It was my first time making it in their new oven. That was exciting. I somehow didn't start the timer on my phone when I put it in. That was not exciting. It meant I had to guess. Based on the result I did a pretty good job.

A nice thing about getting their early is that I got to hang out with Gene, Isabel, Brian, Pat, and Katie, for a while. That is of course part of the master plan. I think we set a record for the most repeat members of the audience between the two sister concert series, Church Korner and Court House Concerts. Usually Chris and I are the only ones. Am I really going to try and make a list of attendees I know again? Well yes and no. I know I'm going to forget tons of people especially those I only know from concerts at Gene and Isabel's house. There was Coco & Bruce, Carolyn, Peter, and Athena, Sharon, Fred, Mike, Gella, Joanne, David, Katie, AJ, Gene's Sister whose name I should really know. This is ridiculous. I'm doing poorly at this even for me. Well lots of people I know.


The opening act was Kat Quinn, someone I see often enough to get a macro to insert a link to her website. She was my recommendation. She is exactly the kind of performer I love to promote, a great talent that is outside of my usual circles. Ouch, I heard myself patting myself on the back. When Gene introduced her he said that he hated to admit it but this was one of the few occasions where "Gordon was right." My friends seem to have the notion that the way you show affection for me is abuse. Of course I am right and Kat is great. I've told you that a zillion times this time I'll show you.

That song is based on an incident on the hill at Falcon Ridge. I invited Kat to go there. So I get a co-write credit, right?

This was a solo show for her but something I was very happy about is that after she saw We're About 9 should could appreciate a compliment about when she performs with Jo and Caitlin, she has a sense of harmony reminiscent of We're About 9. She knows that there's more to it than singing 1-3-5 and sounding pretty. It can be a means of expression.

As usual I prepared a paper airplane to throw at her at the end of Kind of Brave. I actually prepared two and launched them simultaneously. I inserted the keel of one in the fold of the other and they separated after launch. Yes I'm a geek. I do things like that.

I just wrote about We're About 9 yesterday so I shouldn't have anything to write today � but I do. Kat said she never heard any audience as excited about hearing a band than yesterday for We're About 9. Someone said, "They are better than anyone that plays arenas. Gene's introduction was simply, "They are my favorite band." They might not play aren�, they might never get a mass audience, but the people that get them don't just like them, they don't just love them, they adore them. I am of course part of they. And here's the thing, they keep getting better. I just got their last album on Saturday and it really is the best thing they've done. I refuse to say that when I don't believe it. When I do merch and people ask me what's the best album I tell them my honest opinion. Yesterday someone asked about We're About 9 and I said, Future Pilot. Brian always tells me "the new album isn't as weird as the others," Good thing he has no sense of what's weird. Their vision is their own vision, like no one else's, that makes it weird. That's also pretty much the definition of genius. The analogy I meant to include yesterday is that they are like Bob Ross painting a picture on TV. You remember him, he's the guy with the happy trees. Bob would start painting and you'd go, that's good. Then he'd add one little line and you'd say, "that's so much better!" We're About 9 adds exactly the right amount of little lines and shades to make it work perfectly.

There are no good videos of the band. I said that to Brian before the show and he said he knew. I asked for them to do "Nobody's Flying" and I'd video it. He said they would. They didn't. They clearly don't love me. But I still praise them to the skies. That's how good they are.

After the show I got a ride home from Peter, Carolyn, and Athena. That was nice. they gave me a ride back from the Take me To the River Festival back in September. I had already bought my train ticket but that's fine as I'll use it next week when I go see Dar in Port Washington. I'm going with Gene, Isabel, and Fred so I'll take the train out there then we'll all drive up together. That always means a lot to me, actually making plans with people. Most of the time I just run into friends by chance.

Oh before I forget here are the pictures from yesterday.

And here are the pictures from Saturday night.

Speaking of running into people I ran into Scott from the IDD on the train out there. I might start keeping a data base of people I run into purely by chance like that, not because we are both going to a show where I know there's a good chance I'll run into them. Last Monday I ran into Kath near Union Square after I came out of therapy. The people I've run into the most are Seth and Jean. If I keep a running tab I'll see if that's true and if there are any patterns.

OK time for breakfast. I think it's French toast and bacon.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 20, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!