I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 26, 2007 - 10:57 a.m.

I got board at the sound of We're About 9 6

My Crohn's disease is acting up yet again. I didn't eat anything yesterday and I'm in pain. If I had eaten, the pain would be far worse. Despite that I still went out to The Minstrel Coffeehouse to see We're About 6. I wasn't really in pain then. If I felt like I did by the end of the evening I would have stayed home.

I was the sound assistant so I had to get there early, 7 O'clock for an 8:30 show. It was getaway day for Memorial Day weekend so I left plenty of time to get there. I ended up being creative in my route. I went considerably out of my way but it was worth it. Instead of just taking the direct route to the George Washington Bridge I took a big loop and approached it from the North. There were huge backups from any other direction. That is par for the course. I have to remember to go that way whenever traffic is bad.

I really have to sound assist more often. I forgot almost everything I learned from the last time I did it. I was still useful though. I was surprised that Brian and Katie weren't surprised at all that I was working on the sound. They always see me at shows but it isn't like I'm usually working at them. I guess they just figured it was the kind of thing that I'd do It was fun doing it for people I know. I would have been nice if I'd had been allowed to "drive" as Mike Agranoff, head honcho of the Minstrel and the one doing the sound put it. I don't know how to really do anything but I know what Brian and Katie sound like better than he does. I have seen them acoustic so many times and that is what it is the ideal.

The show was great of course. They had a lot of new songs from the album they are working on. They just keep getting better and better. Oh yes, they were announced as "We're About 6" even though they were listed on the program as the "We're About 9 Duo." I didn't even have to prompt Sandy, the emcee, to call them that.

Usually after the shows at the Minstrel everyone goes out to eat together. This was the one week the restaurant wasn't available and Brian and Katie had to drive down to West Virginia straight from the show so that was cancelled. I did get to hang out with them a bit during the intermission and again, after I finished putting all the sound equipment away. I passed on Chris's regrets that he couldn't be there. The way I put it was, "You know he isn't but Chris said it was because he was a "wuss." Katie immediately said, "Chris isn't a wuss." Well I said, that I knew that she knew that. So, see Chris you are forgiven. I mean it wasn't like the show was at Taste Budd's and there was the added lure of chocolate. Really good chocolate. Yum. OK now I'm all distracted. No, I'm not going to explain why I started talking about this.

I said my goodbyes in the parking lot, got hugs from Brian and Katie. Brian tried to pull on the wishbone on my shirt but resisted because there was the danger (or is that allure) of grabbing my nipple in the process. I love that Brian will actually say things like that.

I was disappointed that neither one of them commented that the sound was particularly good on Brooklyn. Mike had to go to the bathroom then so it was my one chance to get to run the soundboard. I showed restraint and did not fiddle with equalization even though I thought it needed more Mid-Range. All I did was pump up Katie's bass a bit because I could hardly hear it. Brian put me in charge of letting them know if it got out of tune, we had a secret hand signal and everything. It was hard to tell if it needed tuning when I couldn't hear it clearly. I have to admit I was flattered that Brian trusted my ears.

Anyway after the parking lot hugs I drove home and crashed. My plan for today is to not move till my tummy feels better. Wish me luck.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 26, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!