I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 21, 2015 - 11:19 a.m.

VP No Not Joe Biden

Let's see how this works, I'm writing to Barbra Streisand, The Broadway Album. I love Amazon Prime, I just finished listening to Jonathan Coulton's The Best Concert Ever. History was made this morning. Today's WFUV Question of the Day was songs about the future and Corny played my suggestion Joco's The Future Soon at my suggestion. Now I'm going through the tons of other music I added to my library and never listened to.

I'm under some time pressure, I'm meeting Erika for lunch and have to leave her in a shade less than an hour. I used to write entire entries in 20 minutes. I can do it if I don't get distracted. I was smart, I didn't try to eat breakfast early. I usually eat my first meal around 12:30 so that's what I'll do today, except it will be lunch. Most days I only eat two meals so I'll then have breakfast for dinner. I have to remember to buy eggs on the way home.

I'm a bit concerned about my leg. The bone bruise is gone but now there's soft tissue swelling, I'm afraid it's infected. It isn't turning colors but the pain has spread to new areas. Might be headed to urgent visit later or tomorrow.

Last night I did the unthinkable, I missed John Platt's On Your Radar to hear other music. I saw Villa Palagonia (pal-uh-go-NEE-uh) at Caffe Vivaldi. I was joined by Fred, Carolann, and Karyn. Caffe Vivaldi can be a problem when the place is filled with diners not there to hear the music. But there were enough people there to see VP to set the tone. The people sitting next to us were just there for dinner but they were quiet and listened during the set. It helps that VP does not play background music and they are very good.

When I got there I found my friends talking on the street and I got there early. I love that I could get there in 35 minutes. Though it's further I can get there faster than I can to Rockwood. I miss living in Fort Greene with the subway right outside my door. Then I could get to Rockwood in 15 minutes. New York is big, I don't think out of towners quite get that; they think that 35 minutes is a long trip, to me that's a dream.

Caffe Vivaldi is a good restaurant but not my kind of food, at least for the price. So I ate at home. I had a totally plain cheeseburger that I just added ketchup to. It was still great because I made it exactly the way I like. A cast iron skillet is a great way to cook a burger. Just make sure to let it get good and hot. I'm writing a lot about food aren't I?

You might have noticed that Villa Palagonia has joined the ranks of don't miss acts. There is so much more to their shows than most. Sure there's great music but there's also dance, and even more unusual, educational content. You learn about the history, culture, language, and geography of Sicily. It's a geek trifecta. It goes beyond Sicily who else is going to sing about the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire? I'm so excited that their album is almost ready. They always feel like they belong in a Fellini film.

There was one disappointment, when Allison went through the crowd doing the Tarantella, I couldn't join her because of my accident. I thought about it but just visualizing standing up was painful, let alone doing an energetic dance. This is the first time I didn't dance. I'm pretty sure she forgave me.

I took pictures but I'll use the one that Fred posted. He had a better vantage point and OK I'm being lazy.

When we were out on the street Joe and I were talking about the virtues of different kinds of guitar strings. With Villa Palagonia he plays primarily with nylon strings but he experimented with a fancy new string with a steel or was it titanium, core then wrapped with nylon. Guess what unraveled during the show? Yes that string. Joe blamed me. It's a fair cop.

I of course did not make a quick getaway. I had too many people to schmooze with. I was going to stop at Stop and Shop on the way home to get eggs but then had the revelation that I didn't have to eat breakfast before I left this morning so I'll pick them up on the way home.

Hey I finished this in time. Sure I'm forgetting tons of important things but it's more important to get it done on time than to be perfect.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 21, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!