I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 21, 2015 - 1:02 p.m.

Twi-night Double Header

I really thought I was going to start writing before 11 today, instead it's 11:47. But I do have photos and videos edited. Of course they are from one only one of the two shows I went to yesterday.

The first was Villa Palagonia at the Feast of San Gennaro. It's in Little Italy and one of the easiest places for me to get to. It's two trains but only three stops and a three block walk. So even though I just missed the and had to wait 10 minutes for the next and I didn't leave myself much time I got there with a few minutes to spare. The show was on a stage set up right on the corner of Mott and Grand with folding chairs in the street. There were no seats available in the front row but there was a gap where a seat should have been and I grabbed a chair further back and put it there. On my way there as I realized I would be just in time I remembered that last year they went on early! This is an oddly run festival when it comes to the music. This year they started a few minutes late.

San Gennaro should have been a great audience for Villa Palagonia, and they were! Well except for the sing-along to The Boots Stay On. Allison did a Tarantella early on and went into the crowd and asked people to dance with her. There's always the guy with two left feet that has no shame and dances. Yes I mean me. I forgot that I wanted to video that; I was so distracted by getting a chance to dance.

Here's a video I took. The title is in Italian and I can't figure out what Allison's saying because, you know I'm an idiot. But I love the song.

I of course hung around after the show to talk to Joe and Allison. I had to wait quite some time as a mob formed around Allison. I told you it was a good audience for them.

So here's the question, why weren't you there? This was a free show and wonderful and there was all kinds of great food in the neighborhood.

I didn't get to talk to them as long as I'd have liked because as I said yesterday was a twi-night doubleheader, Anthony da Costa was playing at Rockwood Music Hall. That's only 0.7 miles away so I could leave at 5:35 and still get there early for the 6:00 show. I actually left after door opened and I was only the second one there. But the crowd filled in nicely. The only one I knew was Anthony's mother who I was happy to say recognized me. OK what's her name, Lily! Did I get that right? Tell the audience what I won.

Anthony did his own little John Platt's On Your Radar, three acts in two hours. Anthony was joined by Big Thief and Wilson Marks. Anthony has great musical tastes in friends. He is the one that introduced me to Rebecca Loebe, Raina Rose, and John Elliott. He still has good taste since moving to Austin. Rebecca, Raina, and Wilson live there too.

I should have taken notes. There was a line from a song of Wilson's I wanted to quote, now it's gone. He's a guy with a guitar but somehow what comes out is Neuromusic. It' not almost neuromusic, it's Neuromusic. Get Austin out of your head. He doesn't sound like Austin. It took me forever to realize what he was playing. I was thinking some sort of Jazz? It felt like it could have been in the 50s or early 60s but not quite. I finally figured out that he follows the defining ethos of Neuromusic, creating your own esthetic as you go along. I like his esthetic.

OK now it's really bad. What did I have to say about Big thief other than that I loved them? They are neuro too. An Lanker and Bukc Meek play guitar at the same time in such different styles that it sounds like it's two different kinds of instruments. There was lots of interesting guitar playing with them and Wilson. They all do things you don’t normally hear and see.

When Anthony lived here I saw him as much as I saw anyone. I met him when he was 16 and immediately knew that he was something special. He played the Budgiedome that summer every day. I thought everyone needed to know him. I still think so. In Austin he plays with his band da Costa, yes just his name, or is it dacosta one word? Whatever it isn't him solo. But they don't tour. I did get the brand spankin' new CD. I'll listen to it tonight. He just released an album but he played a song too new to be on it. That's so Anthony. He is a device for turning coffee into songs. Sorry no pics of him. I took some but it was dark and will take more time to edit them.

On the way home I stopped at Pathmark. They are going out of business and everything is at least 20% off. I got the very last Taylor ham and put it in my freezer. I don't know what I'll do when I'm done with that. Maybe Stop and Shop will carry it if I ask them really nicely. I might have to rely on Brian to be my supplier again. That's trouble as he holds it over me. I also got Breathe Right Strips. I always get the extra strength but they were out of those. And no what, it worked fine last night. These are cheaper so I'll stick to them. I got to sleep through the night, that's what matters.

Now for some bacon and eggs. I have to figure out what dinner is. I think I still have burgers in the freezer.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 21, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!