I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2000-11-12 - 05:07:29

Usz, thems and bridges

Big problem I'm really happy now. That cuts down on the creative juices. I can't really have a rant about something when I'm feeling this way.

OK I'll use one of my back up entries.

Who is Gordon?

Democrat or Repubican? Democrat of course.

Crunchy or Creamy? Creamy. Now that is an important one. I used to eat peanut butter every single day for lunch. When I lose weight I will go back to it.

Rationalist or Romantic: Rationalist. Logic is the only way to really discover reality.

Realist of Romantic: Romantic. OK you can only discover things through logic but you can interpret them romantically. I have no need to read "realistic" fiction. I see the real world all the time. I want romance in my art.

Us or them. Now everyone thinks of themselves as an us. But to me its a bigger deal. I divide the world into three parts. Usz, thems, and bridges. Now there aren't many usz around at all. What makes an us an us? First we are cursed with self awareness. We tend to feel alienated. We are also creative and weird. Not only weird but we think its good to be weird. If you think that you must be from another planet then you might be an us. The thems are the majority. We can be friends with thems but a them never really understands an us. Bridges are probably the rarest of the groups. They can understand both usz and thems.

Among the frulads Mike is the only sure us. Jian is a them, and Dave is a Bridge. Murray is well Murray. We let him into all the us events though.

Now of course I'm stuck here among the thems till the mother ship arrives. That is if we are really aliens. Other theories are that we are Elves, mutants, or just insane. I sometimes call us Elf friends, or Children of Dom Manuel. Whatever the name its the people who's minds work somewhat like mine. People I can really relate to.

So that's it for today. Nothing that actually happens to me appears on these pages notice that?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2000-11-12
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!