I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 10, 2014 - 10:40 a.m.

Unpopular

I have to be out of here by noon so I better start writing. I haven't even thought about what I'm going to write and I won't let that stop me. Heather just got back from visiting her parents in Maryland and I went over there last night. Her parents were there too. She made Italian sausage for dinner. We set up her Roku and I got to watch Phineas and Ferb!. Oh and I got to play with her dog Bambi who came up with her parents.

Wow that was the right up of my day. I summed it up in less than 100 words. I guess I need to find something else to write about. It's a bit hard as the S key is sticking. I think something slipped underneath it. Oh I think it just slipped out. It did! Whew.

I think I'm going to write an uncomfortable edition of Wise Madness today. I will do two things I feel uncomfortable with, preach and tell you political positions that most of My Gentle Readers disagree with. The fact that the latter IS uncomfortable is the entire point.

Let's start by reading How to Create a Cult Atmosphere in Which No One Questions You. The short version is that people won't speak out against something they think everyone else is for or visa versa. Everyone is not the entire population but the affinity group you identify with. If you go through your Facebook wall you'll see how opinions that might not be popular I the general population are voiced over and over again in your social circle. It's tough to go against that flow. It's how intelligent and educated Republicans can deny human created global warning in defiance of the evidence So the thing is that it's easy for you to decry that but you do it too. We all do it.. I make an effort to speak out when I disagree with my friends. It takes an effort. I'm getting anxiety now just thinking about what I'm about to write .But I'm going to do it because I want my friends to know that it's OK to think these things.. You aren't the only one that thinks that. It is actually very much like coming out, something you know that I strongly support. It's also easy for me to say that as I know that my friend are pretty much all strongly for gay rights. It takes no courage to say that.

So what does take courage for me? To say that I'm not just not against GMOs I am strongly for them. They have the potential to do an amazing about of good and there are no significant dangers other than dangers that exists for other reasons like monocultures. Of course GMOs have the potential to alleviate the use of monocultures and promote genetic diversity. Know what's evil about Monsanto, not that they use GMOs it's how they try to limit their use to protect their patents. The president of the Royal Society compared being against GMOs to denying global warming and evolution and she's right..

I'm not uniformly against fracking. Sure I don�t want it where there is a risk of contaminating major water sources but that's not what is usually going on. It is the main reason the US has been producing less greenhouse gases.. It has huge economic benefits that you are sharing. It has geopolitical benefits. It doesn�t rate as one of the top environmental dangers yet gets so much attention. Worried about the environment spend your energies on greater dangers.. I am very worried about the environment. It's always been one of MY causes. I was talking about global warming in the 60s for god's sake.

I'm not a pacifist. While I'm not sure of what to do about the Islamic State the use of military force should be an option. Too many people are not worried about people dying but only but only if we are involved. Not taking action is an action. Why the US? Because we have the ability to do something. Should other countries help? Of course and unified action is far better. It gives action more legitimacy.. But the situation is not going to be better by just saying, "what a shame."

I'm sure there are others but that's the three that seem to come up often where I see the people I identify with in lockstep with positions I disagree with

I don't have the courage to bring up some musical opinions I hold. but I bet you have all experienced this. There's a musical act that all you hear publically is praise for. She/he/they are so great! Go see them. But then in whispers others will say, "What do you think about The Act I think The Act sucks big time." Then you feel better because you know you aren't the only one but you still won't say it out loud. Of course that is also a matter of not wanting to hurt The Act's feelings. I will gladly say that Jackson Browne sucks. No way he's going to hear about it and if he does he'll cry all the way to the bank. I worry about the nice people playing nice music nicely. I might cringe when I hear the music but I will only look into the eyes of people to see who else shares my dislike before saying something.

So does everyone hate me now? Am I going to get beaten up? Nah. but I'm still nervous about posting this And that's the point. I'm doing it anyway. The world would run better if everyone gave their real opinions and didn't go along with the crowd.

I sometimes think that most politics is based on what group you identify with On GMOs and fracking I'm identifying with scientists I want to be on their side. I want to think of myself as rational. In doing that just me being irrational? I worry about that. Perhaps that's the biggest takeaway. Just because you feel like you are making a reasoned decision doesn't mean you are. Double and triple check.

I'll have nice safe things to write about tomorrow. I'm doing something exciting today before therapy. I'm hearing music after therapy. Everyone will love what I write tomorrow. Just hope you love me today.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 10, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!