I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 24, 2016 - 11:52 a.m.

Life is Large Bigger than the Hate of Trump

I did put on shoes and leave the house yesterday. I went two whole blocks to Lickity Split, the ice cream parlor. I had a root beer float with Bittersweet Symphony ice cream. I know that's what you wanted to know. I should just end this now otherwise I'm starting with dessert. Of course that's the best thing about a grown up, your parents can't tell you not to.

I'm going to work backwards through food. I do not know what I had for dinner. A friend of Jane and Bernie brought some mystery meat over. There was a container of things that looked like meatballs in sauce. It's Caribbean food so a mystery sauce. I spooned some into a plate and heated in in the microwaves. They are not meatballs. There's a little bone in the middle of each one so you can't eat them with a fork. They are like little ribs except the bones' cross section is circular. Anyone know what I ate? There's lots more and Jane and Bernie are going to the Democratic Convention so it's up to me to finish it.

When it was hot last month the top floor of the duplex where I sleep was boiling hot. Now it's hotter outside and I'm perfectly comfortable. What is that about? I'm actually a bit cool now. Thank god for air conditioning. OK thank Willis Carrier.

The best thing I have done since yesterday's Wise Madness are conversations with Annie and Brianne. Thank Alexander Graham Bell for inventing the telephone. Of course we use pretty much none of the technology he invented when we make a cell phone call.

Brianne and I are working on the Budgiedome schedule. It's going to one of the strongest lineups ever. I also talked to Emily via Facebook and the Steeple Tent menu is going to be one of the strongest ever too. There will be bacon. That is sort of like saying KFC will serve chicken.

I should really write something about the Republican Convention. What I have is short. I learned nothing from the convention other than that Scott Baio is a jerk. Donald Trump explained exactly who he was and what he stands for when he announced his candidacy;

When Mexico sends its people, they’re not sending their best. They’re not sending you. They’re not sending you. They’re sending people that have lots of problems, and they’re bringing those problems with us. They’re bringing drugs. They’re bringing crime. They’re rapists. And some, I assume, are good people.
This is the face he wanted to show the country, bigotry. With that message he won the nomination of a major party. Almost half the people support him. A large majority of white men support him. The fact that his supporters can think they are not bigots shows how well people can lie to themselves. The reaction to that statement should have been horror, not cheers. Everything since then has been variations on a theme.

I can't leave you with thoughts of Trump. I have to cleanse your soul.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 24, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!