I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 31, 2013 - 12:44 p.m.

Yesterday and Tomoko

Let's start off with my health. I'm feeling fine. As yesterday progressed I felt less and less of my intestines till I didn't feel them at all. That always makes me hungry. I am going to try and remember everything I ate yesterday. I had two poached eggs with two slices of Taylor Ham on a slice of bread for breakfast. I drank OJ, then iced coffee with an egg cream for dessert.

Then for late lunch I had a peanut butter sandwich. I eat my meals one slot later than most people. I have breakfast around noon, Lunch at four, and dinner anywhere between nine and midnight. I often skip lunch and then eat dinner earlier and have a late night snack.

I did go out. I went to see the terrific Tomoko Omura. I am seeing Tomoko so often now that she's earned a macro to insert a link to her website. There is no higher honor. Typing her name made me notice something orthographically unusual about it. Do you know any other name with four consecutive vowels being "o?"

She played at Pianos on the lower east side. it is not one of my favorite venues. All the seats are taken by people eating and drinking and the people at the seats and the bar are not there for the music. In fact they seem to be totally unaware that there is amazing music going on five feet away from them. They shout and scream and never stop talking. They take flash pictures of each other. I was tempted to play journalist and do video interviews asking if they knew there was music playing and if they did that they were interfering with people listening to it. I took a video of the crowd but I decided to not show it. What's the point and it distracts from what's important, the music.

But my favorite rude person was someone that did want to listen to the music. I got there before the music started. As I said all the seats were taken and I didn't want most of them anyway. If I was at a table or the bar I'd be right next to people talking. Instead I went dead center in the room. If you stand there in the acoustic center of the speakers you hear the music the loudest and the crowd the least. If you move off center in any direction the sound gets worse. About half way through the show a woman comes up to me and asks me to move so she could see. She was back by the bar. She got there after I did and didn't have to stand where I blocked her vision, It didn't occur to her that she could move. She could have stood next to me and heard better too. But I didn't say anything. I acquiesced and moved a few steps to the side. But you know what's wrong with that. The sound quality went way down. So I decided to ignore formalities and went to where I was before and sat on the floor. Genius! The sound was even better there. Sure I was a grown man sitting on the floor in the middle of a busy bar and probably looked ridiculous but I could hear the music and see Tomoko.
Tomoko plays in a lot of configurations, last night was with the Bop Trio. Guess what kind of music they play? Yes Bop! OK I'll be honest. I probably don't know exactly what makes music bop and the name could be used ironically but I sort of doubt that. I know what I hear it I want to bop to it. It takes a conscious effort to stand still.

I love that not only does she do traditional jazz and her own compositions but she arranges things like Nick Drake songs, Japanese TV show themes, and Japanese folk music. Jazz is about how the music is performed, not written.

I had trouble hearing when she announced once song. I thought she said "Powerhouse." That is one of my favorite pieces of music, yours two even if you never heard of it. It's a Raymond Scott classic and was used in many Warner Brothers Cartoons. It would also fit right into the setlist. Alas it wasn't. But now I want to hear her play some Scott. Her outfit led my mind straight to "The Penguin."

I have a twofold mission, getting her better places to play and getting some of you to see her with me. Tim and Efrat I'm making sure to let you know next time I see her.

On the way home I passed Shake Shack in Brooklyn and got a shake. It's great when you go to the cold food line. There is no line, you just go next.

I had dinner when I got home, the rest of the soup I had made the other day. There was a lot of soup left. That's good I was hungry. I had not one but two rolls with it, one with butter and the other with olive oil. To drink? Another egg cream.

Then late I had a craving for even more sweets. I had nothing in the house other than the U-Bet so i had a peanut butter and chocolate syrup sandwich. It could use rice crispies but it's fine without them.

And now for something completely different, a man with a tape recorder up his nose.

Some clicking around on FB led me to a screen I'm not sure I've seen before. It asked me how I met my newest FB friend Elvira Stitt. Before I go on are any of My Gentle Readers enough of a film buff to know where the name comes from? It's a stage name. No fair using Google. well OK use Google, that�s what I did. But if you knew on your own let me know and I'll tip my cap to you.

After telling the story of how I met her I stumbled around till I figured out how to find that section for other friends. It isn't easy. Then I started filling it in for the people at the top of my friends list. FB shows that in a different order every time you open it so it's very difficult to be systematic about it. I think FB does that just to be ornery. I have canonical stories about how I met many of my friends. I like the fact that I'm the kind of person that has canonical stories. I like the fact that I'm the kind of person that uses "canonical." I like the fact that I'm the kind of person that employs parallelism in his writing.

Speaking of ornery websites, Google has gone from being an upright citizen to pure evil. First they extorted me into using Google+ by deactivating my YouTube till I did. then just to be ornery they changed all of my videos to private without telling me. All the videos that I and other people embedded and linked to could no longer be seen. A band that was using one of them on their website told me and it took me a while but I figured out how to make all of them public in one shot. I thought I'd have to do it one at a time. Nowhere does it tell you how to do that. Google used to be so good. What happened. Power corrupts,

I've been lonely and I think that's making me more critical. Or maybe something else is making me both more critical and lonely. But I find I'm noticing people and things being annoying more than usual and it's bothering me more. Maybe I can remember to discuss that during therapy.

An omelet will make me feel better. Not peanut butter today, Taylor Ham and Pepper Jack cheese. I have a fresh batch of cold brew too. I keep meaning to write tips on making cold brew. Remind me the next time I have nothing to write about.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 31, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!