I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 25, 2013 - 12:38 p.m.

I guess you can get there from here

As I've been running out of time writing I started writing this last night. Then I forgot to put it in my dropbox so I don�t' have hit here. You know why? Because I'm an idiot. And that's not even my idiot story. The weather has been cool, in the 50s when I leave the house in the morning then warming up to the 70s during the day. I wear my WFUV hoodie when I leave the house and carry it home unless I stay late enough for it to cool off. On Monday I grabbed the hoodie from the coat rack in my office and started to leave. Then I felt something in my pocket, a ski cap I didn't recognize. I said, "what? Somebody put a cap in my pocket. Then I felt in my other pocket and there were keys. Not my keys. I don't leave my keys in the pocket of a hoodie in an office that everyone has access to. I am usually the only one that uses the coat rack but someone else with a black hoodie chose to on Monday. Mine was already packed away I my back pack. Yes I know. I'm an idiot.

But I'm an idiot that accomplished something. I've told you that even though class started the first Wednesday of September I haven't gotten my copy of the text book yet. I decided to bypass the school bureaucracy and contact the publishing company directly. I found the sales rep for my school and told her my situation. This is what she wrote back.

Thank you for your email- I just requested another shipment for you to your school address. If you don't receive it this week please let me know and I can send you tracking information.

Thanks!

That's how easy it was. Why did no one from my school do that any of the dozen times I complained that I didn't have a text? I didn't want to go outside of official channels but I was rewarded for doing so. More importantly my students were rewarded. I'll be able to assign better homework now.

I'm having some friction with a friend now. [coin flip to decide gender][head = male] He is making something personal that isn't. I'm not sure if I should just let it go or say something. That's always the question. There is no easy rule to follow either. It involves judgment of how the other person will react. I've gotten this wrong even with people I know well. This is one of the hundreds of people that I'm friends with, see in real life, but never have quality time with.

So more in interpersonals. What this is really about is my line of thought that I had to reconstruct after the fact. I couldn�t' figure out why I was thinking about something that happened over ten years ago but there was a natural line.

It starts with another conflict. This one is personal. No details and I was going to totally gloss over it but I really like the emotional equivalent scenario I came up with to discuss it without giving away what or whom I'm talking about. Somebody done me wrong. My good friend Pierre de Porc, world famous bacon chef, was preparing a special breakfast at someplace I frequent and I'm well known. I called made reservation as soon as I heard and said I was coming. Pierre went to save me some bacon knowing it would go fast and it's me and it's bacon. The restaurateur who knows me and my love of bacon said, "you can't save him bacon" and gave away the last piece. So this is not a disaster and I'll have plenty of other opportunities to eat bacon, even bacon made by Pierre, after all he's my friend. But it is still bothered me and I take it personally because I know he let other chefs save dishes for their friends.

But that's not my point. My point is the calculator. Oh and Jess don�t' get homicidal. This wasn't really about someone keeping me from bacon. The bacon is just a metaphor, like the platypus. Everyone knows that if you come between and bacon you are likely to lose some fingers so they don�t' do it.

But where was I? Did I have a point? Yes I did. And it wasn't actually the calculator. That was another metaphor, like the bacon, and the platypus. It's Carey's birthday so I'm making lots of references that she'll enjoy. Remember the jokes aren't always for you.

So back to my point; I was going to post about the actual situation to see if you, My Gentle Readers, felt I had cause to feel annoyed. The more I thought about the more I realized that doesn't work. It isn't about getting actual feedback, it's about seeking affirmation from your friends who will of course tend to side with you, especially as they are only haring yours side of the story.

And that brought me back to events of more than a decade ago. Someone I hardly knew posted in a public forum something very insulting to a good friend of mine It was as if someone on the Falcon Ridge Group on Facebook that I only know from the group called one of my Good friends stupid. I responded in what I felt was the right way, I privately wrote the person and said that she knew better than that and should take down her post. So what did she do? She posted my letter publicly and said that I was stupid then quoted one of my idiot stories to prove it and waited for her friends' approval. And that's what she got. One friend went as far as to crucify me for being so mean as to criticize her friend and that I was violating her right to free speech. She did not appreciate the irony of what she said. So even someone that was clearly wrong could get friends to say she was right and be angry at anyone who thought otherwise.

I came up for a good expression for someone that so lose perspective that they have no moral depth perception, moral monocular vision. Is there one word that means monocular vision? That would make it punchier. You know that you've met people with it. In fact I bet you've encountered it I the last week.

So here I was thinking about this and actually one step past this that I shouldn't talk about and wondered how the hell I got to thinking about that. It took me a while to reconstruct the path. But once I did I knew this was fodder for Wise Madness. OK I gave up my lunch break to write this. I have to post and go to class.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 25, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!