I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 06, 2016 - 6:37 p.m.

100 Things I Love

The blogs are now coming fast and furious. I should probably try and space then out better but I write when I write. I have the time and inspiration now. This one is going to be easy. It doesn't even need inspiration. Brianne is my program guru and she gave me a writing assignment that I've taken too long to do but I finished today. Part of the assignment was writing this all out by hand. It's a simple list.

100 Things I Love (in no particular order)


  1. Making lists
  2. Hot breakfast
  3. Blogging
  4. Walking into a concert and feeling like Norm walking into Cheers
  5. Cooking food I love
  6. Getting lost in a book
  7. Bookstores
  8. Baseball
  9. Basketball
  10. Going to eat with friends after a concert
  11. The Schulman Sedar
  12. Falcon Ridge
  13. Putting the Budgiedome music together
  14. Getting through to students
  15. Seeing how my fantasy baseball team is doing. There are in first!
  16. Designing spreadsheets
  17. A dark night sky
  18. Math
  19. Organizing things
  20. Being able to quote chapter and verse of Lord of the Rings
  21. The Cabell quote atop Wise Madness
  22. Playing with Children
  23. Playing with dogs
  24. Chocolate
  25. Going to the Opera
  26. Knowing that Pa Pa Pa Pa will always cheer me up
  27. That 1952 Vincent Black Lightning will always make me cry
  28. The Glorious 9th
  29. Being rational
  30. Solving puzzles
  31. Science
  32. Intellectual exploration
  33. Feeling accepted
  34. Music with creative genius
  35. That so many brilliant musicians are my friends
  36. When I'm in deep trouble people care
  37. Baseball stats
  38. The Mets winning
  39. Walking long distances
  40. Exploring
  41. Dinosaurs
  42. The Game of Thrones TV series
  43. Mountains
  44. Joe and Emily's kids crawling into bed with me
  45. Walking into venues like I belong
  46. Going backstage
  47. That special look that someone I love gave me
  48. Cuddling
  49. Expert commuting
  50. Being punctual
  51. Brianne understanding what I'm going through
  52. Puns
  53. People laughing at my jokes
  54. Sex, well duh
  55. Visualizing things that make me happy
  56. Driving on the open road
  57. Being with the band
  58. Breakfast sandwiches
  59. Volunteering at WFUV
  60. Being part of the WFUV family
  61. Being part of the NERFA family
  62. Being part of the FRFF family
  63. The Budgiedome/Steeple camp family
  64. The unreasonable effectiveness of mathematics
  65. Being alone in large public buildings
  66. Walking in the private spaces of public buildings
  67. Transcendental athletes
  68. Taking trains
  69. Flying
  70. Connecting with strangers
  71. Mythology
  72. Favorite things colliding (e.g. Hadestown combining mythology, Anaïs , and Liam)
  73. What MSG does for food
  74. Thinking about General Relativity
  75. Thinking about Quantum Mechanics
  76. Working out what god would do if he existed
  77. Noting parallel structures
  78. Swimming
  79. Playing bridge
  80. How erudite my friends are
  81. Hearing the theme music of my keystone TV shows like Twilight Zone, Star Trek, and Doctor Who
  82. Recognizing episodes from Twilight Zone and Star Trek in seconds
  83. Speaking the Elvish, Quenya and Sindar
  84. Beautiful women
  85. Riding the Staten Island Ferry
  86. Dressing perfectly for the weather
  87. The smell of popcorn
  88. Feeling that Tom Stoppard wrote plays just for me
  89. Making people feel good about themselves
  90. Communicating with special friends with just a glance
  91. Bacon
  92. Air Conditioning
  93. Coffee
  94. Putting on my angora slipper socks
  95. NERFA
  96. Winning on Jeopardy
  97. Peanut Butter
  98. Gordonpalooza
  99. Making the cover of Acoustic Live
  100. Musicians quoting me on their websites

Wow I did that fast. I have to confess this is not quite the list I wrote down. There were some repeats on that and a few things I forgot that I loved more than things on the list.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 06, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!