I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 20, 2017 - 12:07 p.m.

The Sea The Sea The Ribs

After getting dress and almost being out the door, I stayed home yesterday; it was too late to go to Aldi, come home, make and eat dinner, and be ready in time to watch The Sea the Sea's Holiday Party/Concert on Concert Window. After balancing everything out I decided that shopping was what had to go; I can do that today.

I knew I'd be spending more time on dinner than I usually do; I tried a new recipe for barbecued boneless ribs that said it would take 115 minutes, but I know the prep time is always more than they say, at least for me. As you might have deduced this wasn't a crockpot recipe, I used the oven. I hate to say it, but it tastes better than the crock pot recipe. This is the one I used, Baked Barbecued Country-Style Ribs. I always vamp a bit on recipes, I left out the onion and onion power, upped the garlic, and added MSG and the meat rub that Jane got me from Oregon. Never be afraid of altering spices and making substitutions when cooking. It doesn't work in baking. I had to do something energy inefficient, I made roasted potatoes with it, but they need the oven at 425°F so I made them in the toaster oven. Even though I didn't have the best barbecue sauce it came out great, tender, juicy, and tasty. Jane made brownies; I ate those while I cooked. Eating dessert while you cook is my best culinary tip.

I originally had plans to go out last night to hear some special music. This was not wimping out; I heard special music, got to have a home cooked meal, and socialized with friends, albeit online. I'm not a big fan of online concerts. They work for me in some special circumstances. Like all concerts I have to love the music but for it to work online it helps if I am friendly with the band, friendly with other people watching, and most importantly the artist has to interact with the virtual audience. All of these were in place last night. The Sea the Sea was in trio configuration for most of the show, they were joined on vocals by Cara. I asked if she has a last name. She does! It's Cara May Gorman. They were joined on percussion on some songs from Steve. I forgot to ask if he has a last name. I suspect he does but I took the Pro-Truth Pledge, look at the badge at the end of the entry, so I won't claim it as a fact. If you read it here, you can trust it.

I have written before that Chuck and Mira's voices blend better than anyone I have ever heard. It is bold of them to add another voice. They could have a career sounding better than just about anyone. They didn't because they are also musically creative and ambitious. There were things that needed more than two voices to express so they added a third. Cara's fits in marvelously. I wonder how many frogs they had to kiss before they found her. She did one song on her own; Cara can sing. The third voice triples the number of possible harmonies and they fully take advantage of it. They are on the short list of musicians that I know that use harmony as a form of expression, not just something to sound pretty.

The show was a mixture of holiday songs and originals. The originals were new songs from the album they are working on. I'm always excited to hear those. From what I heard it will be their best album yet. The holiday songs were not total reimagined, but they were subtly different from the standard. I could never catch what was different, but I knew there was a difference. I requested The Carol of the Bells as I knew that would give them a lot to work with. I was right.

The Sea the Sea should do a great holiday show as there is something about them that is always like Christmas; They combine divine sounds with a human heart. This was their second Concert Window holiday show. I hope they make it a yearly tradition. They should do a Holiday tour like Robinson and Rohe. This would be perfect in a house concert setting. You hear me Coco? Coco's house looks like a Christmas Special from our childhood. I'm sure Andy Williams is there somewhere in a sweater.

I'll be seeing The Sea The Sea in exactly one month at Common Ground Community Concerts in Hastings. I hope it's a trio show. You should buy your tickets now and join me. A cute guy will sell you merch. Here's a sample of what you'll hear, a new song of theirs.

I finished this in less than an hour, That's good. Unless something big hits the news tomorrow I'll give you the history of my holiday traditions.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 20, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!