I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 27, 2015 - 4:44 p.m.

A Horvendile Thanksgiving

Dateline Southborough MA: I'm a bit sleepy but I have a lot to write about. Let's start with yesterday's breakfast. I just fried myself some eggs. I have fried eggs many times. I had been told that farm fresh eggs are better. I've been told that organic eggs are better. I've tried them and never noticed a difference. My eggs yesterday were markedly better. They come from a farm in Texas so there's not much chance I'll get them at home. But it is good to know there can be a difference in how eggs taste.

This is Thanksgiving so there will be a lot of talk about food, Thanksgiving is the culinary holiday. For those of My Gentle Readers tuning in late I made my second annual trip to Southborough to spend Thanksgiving with Emily and Joe and their family, their three daughters,Maggie, Cate, and Ellie, Emily's sister Sarah and Sarah's husband Drew. I know all of them from Falcon Ridge; they camp right next to us. We were joined by Emily's father Steve, aka Grumpy, Joe's brother Mike, Kathy who is my friend from Falcon Ridge and NERFA, and and and and and and I'm going to say Pam but that might be wrong. I'll bet my life her name has one syllable. And yes that was just showing off that I remember everyone's name. I know there were 12 people so that's everyone! Huzzah! Who stole the real Gordon who is an idiot and can't remember anything?

We had two turkeys, on traditional and one brined and grilled, mashed potatoes, scallop potatoes, and foods I don't eat so don't matter. For dessert there was apple and walnut pie, cheesecake, and trifle that Kathy made. Yes I tend to get indulged.

I almost forgot the most important thing; Emily's home made chocolate Irish cream consumed more alcohol than I ever have. It tastes like a milk shake and is even better in coffee. I have more alcohol tolerance than I expected as I did not get tipsy. If you ever want to get me drunk and take advantage of me that's how to do it. I'm only giving that information for the benefit of beautiful women; otherwise please don't take advantage of me.

We ate early the sat around the fire and talked well into the evening. Kathy showed she is really related to me by not leaving when she felt that she should. She couldn't pull herself away. The last ones up were Sarah, Drew, and me; just what I'd expect.

This morning I awoke to bacon and coffee. We discussed what to do today and ended up staying in. I spent most of the days playing outside with the kids. It was all playacting. I had a bakery that made all chocolate products, actually mud. The girls were at various times my daughter, two poor orphans, a rich woman and her servant, and a queen. My name was Alex, NOOOO! I forgot my Dickensonian last name! We all took assumed names. Maggie changed her outfit many times. I felt like I was living in Little Women with the Marches.

So that brought me up to the present. I can hear them discussing downstairs what movie to watch tonight. I told them I'm easy. If there's any chocolate Irish crème left it might not matter what it is. Not really, I will not get drunk, It just wont' matter because I'll be spending time with people I love. Tomorrow there will be another Thanksgiving dinner that can't be beat that might have more people I love. Now I could sort of use a nap but I might go down and see what everyone else is doing. I hear one of the daughters playing the piano. There is often music in this house. Oh I have to talk to Joe about the NERFA music I brought. I got a lot of CDS for him to rip and I walk to tell him about some of the acts. They run the Steeple Coffeehouse but Joe's work duties don't allow him to go to NERFA so I scout things out for him.

We'll see if I can find time to post tomorrow. Sunday might be an issue; I might have to try to do it from the bus. I wouldn't be surprised if I'm too tired for that.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 27, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!